855 Steem Earned In 2 Days!! 10 Lbs Of Curb-Recycled Legos Sold For 340 Steem For My 2nd Steem Sale

in #business4 years ago (edited)

Well that was much faster than blogging and curating...

I'd never sold curb-recycled finds for crypto before my first attempt last week. I've since generated 2 sales for $90 and $70, for 11.5 pounds of salvaged Lego awesomeness.

This has resulted in 855 Steem being dropped into my wallet, just for doing what I enjoy, and getting Legos into the hands of awesome Steemians who will appreciate them.

Pretty cool.

Now I'm thinking of what else I can try to sell for Steem. This is now is a personal loophole for me to "earn" my Steem in an alternative way, versus buy it.

I'll point out that shipping costs were $46.45, netting me $113.55 after those costs. This is because one box went to the other side of the world, and the other to the other side of my country. I don't care as it's all a win-win, and it'll even out over time. When inventory is free, it's hard to complain..

My goal is to be a good example for others so people get more comfortable using their Steem, versus being so focused on farming it. Even though I bought both shipping labels with USD, I'll keep the Steem instead of cashing it out to account for those costs.


Free Recycled Goods > Steemit > Steem.

Oh yeah, and NO transfer fees.

Here's about 9 of the 10 pounds I'll be sending to our very own @carlgnash after he saw my first post explaining how I sold 1.5 pounds of of Lego minifigures to a Steemian in Tasmania.

Most of these high end technics and Star Wars pieces were found when I spotted this in a clear recycling bag on top of a pile near my apartment.

To most walking by, that's nothing. To me, that's a huge sign that there's more to be found...

Thankfully I shared this pic with @brickmanbrad who easily identified 4 high-end sets these were from.

Proof Of Purchase:


Perhaps this is small ball for now, but it's getting me excited about a new sales channel where I can earn crypto at no risk given that I get this inventory for FREE because I care to recycling. While it's not the most popular pastime for most, you have to start somewhere and get some help along the way to appreciate the bigger picture of how we can each make a difference..

Maybe this Steem will be worth a lot more in the future and it'll make for a great recycled to riches story. On the other hand, maybe these fine Steemians will get these Legos for free if Steem doesn't pan out. It's a risk either way, but it's a sure bet that we're all supporting efforts to clean up unnecessary waste in a fun way.


To keep the magic going, I have about 10 more pounds of assorted curb-saved Legos, and also discontinued Spongebob set I got from a thrift store for $4.34. Let me know if you'd be interested in keeping the ball rolling here.

I built this discontinued 3818 set since it was loose in a bag. First time in a while, I actually had fun playing with toys.

The price is $55 for US residents, and $70 for Non-US residents if I can get the intn'l package under 8 ounces. This price is right on par with what it goes for on eBay.

Thanks for your support. Keep it coming and I'll keep hustling to generate more transactions as a use case.

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Damn Matty ! I have a feeling that a few years down the road they won’t talk about the guy who bought a pizza for 10,000 BTC. They will talk about the guy who became a millionaire selling curb recycled logos for Steem !

Lol. I wrote that same exact thing at the beginning of my post for my first sale to Tasmania. Don’t say this tooooo much or else I’ll never sell anything again!! If I find a dog statue or painting with the word Lucky on, ship the Steem over. Ship it! Then I’ll ship to you.

At some point we need to use Steem as a peer-to-peer currency, not a staked or tradeable token used as a claim on the rewards pool. Thanks for the resteem.

You have a very good point my friend. It is real market value that will increase the price of Steem. Just pure speculation won’t get us anything more than big bubbles and huge crashes

Man you're starting to really kick some goals here, and good on @carlgnash for pulling the trigger as well.

I was talking to a mate our weekly LUG (Lego Uder Group) meeting tonight about how you manage to find this stuff people are just throwing away. He was absolutely amazed that people toss so much decent stuff on the curb.

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Nicely done, dude! I need to start doing something similar.

Great work! Keep on husling!

And I'm impressed to learn someone's on Steem whose set up a lego store that accepts payments in Steem! That's news!

@tipu curate

crypto agorism - there we go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62401.16
ETH 3012.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55