Buslife Update Bone Broth In the Bus

in #buslife6 years ago

Yeah hey this is Vicki, Gypsy clipper. I've been asked what I cook in the bus. And it didn't seem important to me but I guess people are curious.
I post a podcast daily on @anchor.fm/gypsy-clipper as a journal to daily bus life but I never think to do it here so here's today's update.

I don't have a refrigerator in my bus. And that means it's a little more complicated to eat healthy. I ferment most of my vegetables, grains and beans. But I cook regularly using a single propane burner, a pressure cooker,an electric skillet,a bread maker or my Foreman grill.
And I bought some beets to ferment so that left me with the beet greens and I only like beet greens with ham. I follow @vanholio here on steemir and he gave me an idea on how to keep pork neck bones for my dogs.
Screenshot_20180411-151431.png
He also doesn't refrigerate his food. So he suggested storing them in salt. So I always have them on hand.
I remembered they were smoked.
This isn't a short process but it's well worth the added time.
First I cook the shit out of the neck bones in the pressure cooker.
Then I separate the meat from the bones and fat.
IMG_20180411_151316.jpg
Then the rest of the afternoon I cook them in my electric skillet.
I also added some fermented pinto beans. Those I sprout regularly and then I store/ferment/keep them in probiotic(rejuvelac if you want the technical term)water.
And because they are partially broken down by the fermentation process in the probiotic water it takes less time so I thought I'd share the results. The prep time makes cooking the beans significantly less but the results are as good(if not better in my opinion).
IMG_20180411_151301.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @gypsyclipper! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gypsyclipper! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43