Crazy Pikes Peak View, Taking the Long Way Home and Carving out “Alex Time” 😄

in #busy6 years ago

Today was a cloudy day, but somehow Pikes Peak was almost glowing! 👀

0DA15A77-A0EA-4446-A3B6-06990D5DF362.jpeg

Today I had a session with my therapist and she gave me some great advice.

I am an introverted pushover with a big heart, and she ended up giving me some tools to help compensate for that. I care way more about pleasing the ones I love than pleasing myself. In fact, I find myself very easy-to-please. Just give me a little bit of time to chill out daily, and I’m good pushing through a huge list of chores! It’s only the days that are nonstop activity with no chill time that really wear me down. And when I’m already worn down, it’s still hard for me to say no to people I care about.

940183FE-783E-4EFB-8F6B-4FC317591D9C.jpeg

Take some “You Time”.

When the session was over today, she told me that I should take the long way home. Right off the bat in my head I was like “are you mad?? There’s prescious seconds to be wasted in the car that way!” But then I realized the legitimacy of what she told me to do. She was telling me one more way I can get some “Me Time”. Your overal attitude of the drive can really affect your mood during and after the driving. This is why I normally don’t enjoy driving; I see it as the constant geographical struggle to be everywhere at once (or in one day). When I changed my attitude from that to actually enjoying the drive, and enjoying the extra few minutes I got to spend alone with myself, I actually realized there was a whole lot of “chilling” that I have been doing that I was missing out on because I was so stressed!

3080D1CA-D0AE-4C72-B933-1FDEF462F632.jpeg

So I’m home now, and I gotta say, it feels good to know you locked in some “Me Time”.

What are your thoughts on this? Are you one of the people who pushes hard through a busy day and then enjoys yourself after? Or are you like me and you get drained easily, craving some “chill time”?

Sort:  

Congratulations @amvanaken! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

So glad you are taking time for yourself! I’ve been pushing for this for months. So glad it resonated and you are taking cate of you💕💜💙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65