I want to learn data science. Any suggestions?

in #busy6 years ago


image taken from sidharta on Science Fiction and Fantasy Stack Exchange

I've always wanted to be a lawyer, or at least that's what I though. After a couple of reflections, i found out that i really love doing research - from collection to interpretation.

I didn't welcome the thought during my undergrad. I was so focused on that one dream that i decided on from my adolescent years.

Of course i still like the idea of law, politics, and all. But after that demo teaching i did on political science, i realized that the passion is not there.

I realized my fascination with data the moment i discovered crypto early 2016. I've been a close follower. From an outsider's perspective, it looks like a world of programmers. And from the look of my advisor, its not suitable as a thesis topic (hmp).

So i settled with the agriculture sector for my undergrad thesis. I liked all the experience, no matter how many sleepless night i pulled. There's this sense of satisfaction when you put meaning to data. Its pure bliss.

My messy life after I graduated has pushed me to reevaluate things. I want to do things i want now, not what people expects me to do.

So I've researched how I should go about this. I need to build a portfolio, right?. Okay, I'll do that.

I've also seen recommendations of good online courses to start. I have a background on statistics, regression, STATA, and GRETL. There were articles that suggests learning tableau, SQL, and Python.

I've only watched introduction videos to understand the concept of the softwares. Watching python introduction videos gave me feelings of disappointment. I needed this back then. I should've made an effort to learn it.

Better late than never. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71