You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So many stories... so little time.

in #busy6 years ago

I'm a bit partial to Daughters of Le Fey, but I was also getting pretty intrigued with Celtica Diamond, so those would be my votes, but then again, i really liked Ash and the Favour Man. Oh my a quandary that you have passed on to us, how to choose. Ghosty Witch, Dangerous Dragon, Spunky, yet really cool and likable Kid. I know not much help, I guess I'll pick those three, I do not think I could narrow it any further.

Now a probably stupid question why do they not like :
be, am, is, are, was, were, been and being those words, I understand a little bit about passive voice, but what is wrong with having a passive sentence or two? I am trying to learn to write a little bit.

Sort:  

When people I've not (yet) met express delight in my writing, it gives me such a buzz! Thank you for staying with me through all these un-finished stories.

I really don't know why they don't like these words - or passive voice - I guess it's a trend, but if I want to publish, I have to find a way to embrace it.

I have learned a lot from watching your writing, your editing process, and your mentoring others. I have started to try and dabble a little with writing because of the steemmonsters game, it is fun and frustrating all at the same time. You would think publishers would be opening their eyes a little bit more to some of the different styles of work out there and see that while the Indie published book may not go viral, when you look at the overall trend and the number of indie/self published books bought from Amazon and goodreads they would see people are looking for alternatives.

So true! Also, I made a living from my writing last year. I've been writing for almost 20 years and that's the first time it's happened.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87