Late night rant : Mothballs. DON'T DO IT!!

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Adobe_Post_20190407_225039.png

It's 10pm and it's way past my bed time.

Sure I had a 3-4 hour nap earlier but apparently the next 2-3 weeks after the 10 week point is the super baby growing stage so these days I just randomly pass out.

Especially after a huge meal, which we did for lunch this afternoon (blogging that tomorrow!)

But now that I think of it, I wonder if it's actually the unbearable smell of mothballs that knocked me out this arvo?

I didn't really smell it much when I was working on the spreadsheet in the afternoon, but that was probably because I had the fan pointed to my face which was blowing the fumes away from me AND we had all the windows open.

Later tonight when we both got out of bed for a quick snack, most of the windows were shut, the fan wasn't on and all I could smell was the damn mothballs.

@#?!& MOTHBALLS!!!

To be fair, the books probably, maybe, might not have lasted as long without the mothballs protecting them.

But really. I could do without the toxic smell lingering in the house right now cos something that's widely used as a pest repellent and pongs that bad can't possibly good for me or the baby.

Here's some fun facts about mothballs

  1. Mothballs are made out of Naphthalene.

  2. Naphthalene was first registered as a pesticide in the USA in 1948.

  3. Mothballs slowly turn from solid to toxic vapours. So when you inhale mothballs you're inhaling insecticides.

  4. The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) of the World Health Organization (WHO) concluded that naphthalene is possibly carcinogenic to humans.

  5. When Naphthalene enters the body it is broken down to alpha-naphthol, which is linked to the development of hemolytic anemia. Kidney and liver damage may also occur.

  6. Rats fed naphthalene while pregnant did not gain weight as quickly. In humans, women who ate naphthalene mothballs or inhaled the vapors while pregnant gave birth to babies with hemolytic anemia.

Hemolytic anemia is a disorder in which red blood cells are destroyed faster than they can be made. If you have a lower than normal amount of red blood cells, you have anemia. When you have anemia, your blood can’t bring enough oxygen to all your tissues and organs. Without enough oxygen, your body can’t work as well as it should.

Yup. Fun fun fun!!!

And my house reeks of this shit right now.
To say I'm cranky is a complete understatement

What now?!

After some research I found that the best way to get rid of lingering mothball smell are activated charcoal, ground coffee, vinegar and lavender oil.

Out of the 4 options I luckily had 2.

20190407_224422.jpg

But first I had to take the plastic box that housed the books (and absorbed the mothballs smell) out of the house.

Second I had to quarantine them in the office (so the smell was contained to a room) and laid the books out (in their sorted number order!) on the floor to allow them to air out properly.

20190407_224238.jpg

Then I had to prep my solutions.

  1. Bowls of vinegar to absorb the odor. I now have several bowls and pools of vinegar everywhere.

  2. Lavender oil + distilled water + spray bottle. Lavender oil is a natural pest deterrent, antiseptic and it will also absorb the odour in days.

The instruction I read said to just use the oil directly. I however spritzed my lavender mix high above the books with the fan blowing across bowls and pools of vinegar.

20190407_224334.jpg

Does the house still reek?
Nope. All I can smell is vinegar and lavender oil. 👌

Does the quarantine area still reek?
Hells yeh g.dammit!! 🤬🤬 But I can also smell the vinegar and lavender oil and I'm hoping it'll be better tomorrow morning.

Am I still cranky?
I bloody am! We have been so careful these last 10 weeks and out of nowhere we let in these toxic fumes in the house. Plus now it's past 11pm and I'm tired. 😭

Guys. Take it from me. Please say NO to mothballs and spread the word. There's absolutely no reason why people need to use these things, especially when there are safer alternatives to be found in essential oils and herbs.

I'm off to bed to de-stress. I sprayed my pillow with the lavender mix to help me sleep better so I'm looking forward to putting my head down tonight (See?? The lavender oil is already the gift that keeps on giving!)

Goodnight my people!

PicsArt_07-23-09.48.38.png

PicsArt_07-22-09.43.44.png

SOURCES

http://npic.orst.edu/factsheets/naphgen.html

https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/healthlibrary/conditions/adult/hematology_and_blood_disorders/hemolytic_anemia_85,p00076

https://www.ridmycritters.com/how-to-get-rid-of-mothball-smell/

https://www.dispatch.com/article/20141220/LIFESTYLE/312209704

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bearone from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97