Sweet Dreams & Sweet Valley High series

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

I have loved reading since I was 9 years old.

Granted this love was brought on by free pizza thanks to Pizza Hut's Book It program, but it was something that remained with me through the years and it became my source of escape through difficult and unhappy times.

The amount of reading I did and books I collected directly reflected how unhappy I was and it was really my way of being here but not be here.

Over the years as I gradually found spirituality, happiness and true love the less I read and my extensive library was forgotten.

With crypto sluggish and impending operation costs looming, my well laid plans of powering down my account just isn't a viable or lucrative option at the moment. And with me now being 10 weeks pregnant and unable to work with resin (my main medium) I have had to think of other options to raise funds.

In comes my library.....
Well a fraction of it anyway.....

Sweet Dreams 1981-1990s

20190407_124424.jpg

The Sweet Dreams books were a favourite of mine. Being Libran and Venus (the planet of Love) a huge influence over my life, these teenage romance series captivated me and I fast became obsessed with collecting the entire series.

From Primary School up til High School I hunted these books down. Brand new, second hand, I didn't care all I wanted was to complete my collection. I even taped the spines up to prevent damage and to support them further.

You have to understand, by the time I got to these books most of them were already 10 years old! The series is now 37 years old.

For the longest time I though it was another thing I lost at Mum's house up til yesterday when we went over to visit and pick up books to sell, and she pulled them out of the shed.

And these....

Sweet Valley High

20190407_124437.jpg

Sweet Valley High was my stepping stone to the Sweet Dreams books.

I had gone through Sweet Valley Twins, The Babysitter's Club and to Sweet Valley High until I couldn't put up with the character Jessica in Sweet Valley High which ultimately made me ditch the series and devote myself to Sweet Dreams.

That said I still managed to collect books 1 to 23 of Sweet Valley High along with random books of the series.

These series are also around 30 years old now.

Vintage Books

When I was collecting these I didn't really think too far ahead in the future. I just knew I loved them and had to have them.

Imagine my surprise when I started googling them to see how much I could sell them for and found these.

Screenshot_20190407-002824_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20190407-003453_Chrome.jpg

Say what now?!!!

😱😱😱

And let me just add the copies I have of these two books are in schmick and brand new conditions.

So this is me right now...

20190407_125837.jpg

Never did I imagine that 20 plus years later these books would be worth this much.

Do you have anything you've been collecting for a long time? When was the last time you checked how much they're worth now?

Might be worth a look! Cos you never know!

Happy Sunday everyone!

PicsArt_07-23-09.48.38.png

Sort:  

I do understand, but if you must part with them... then I certainly wish you the best of luck my friend.

As for collecting things; the only thing I really ever had that I thought might be of value, were old "Remington Arms" belt buckles my mom purchased years ago. After searching to see their value, I was quite let down... but mattered not as I was unable to find them...

Sending positive energy your way, with much love and light!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Wes :) I might end up keeping a couple of my super fave titles for sentimental reasons, but the rest I don't mind.

Wait a few more years and check again, you never know.

Posted using Partiko Android

omg that is crazy!!! who would of thought these books will worth so much now!!! sell it all!!!

😂😂😂 IKR!! I wouldn't have thought these would end up like this. I did think some of my first edition books would be worth something but not these ones!!

Posted using Partiko Android

i should check how much my old Enid Blyton books are worth then. maybe not much hahaha

Check it anyway! You never know! Though I'm sure they're reprinting Enid Blytons cos I'm after the illustrated hardcover version of the Magic Faraway Tree series and saw some on catchoftheday.

But first editions are first editions...

Posted using Partiko Android

God dammit. I had a tonne of these books too. No idea what happened to them. Did you watch the he series that came out later? It was pretty good from memory.

😂😂😂 the Sweet Valley High series on TV? I never watched them. I hated Jessica with a passion 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

https://m.imdb.com/title/tt0108949/

Maybe I watched it in the UK, I dunno.

I think it was out here as well but I never got to watch it.

Did you know they have a comic now?

https://www.bleedingcool.com/2019/03/19/sweet-valley-high-gets-rebooted-as-a-new-line-of-original-graphic-novels-from-dynamite/

😱😱😱😱 Looks interesting! Reminds me of the Archie comics.

Posted using Partiko Android

You've piqued my interest. @amandaclarke says she never read the Sweet Valley Highs, but thinks she has all the Babysitters Club ones at her mum's place. Might be worth dusting off :)

@mattclarke they're reprinting books 1 to 6 at the moment, but as for the rest of the series 🤷‍♀️ ....

Might be worth a look for sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

We'll have to have a rummage :)

You want books they're no longer printing or first editions. Good luck!

Posted using Partiko Android

Omg. It’s funny, I 100% remember these in the library at school but I NEVER read any of them. I feel like I missed an important part of being an 80’s kid by never reading a Sweet Valley High book.

How exciting they are worth so much now!

Ohh honey the Sweet Valley Highs were ok. It was too much drama and bitchyness for me so I never really liked them much. I don't think you missed out on much 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

@bearone, Many create their own World Of Books. And it's reflecting as you've travelled a long journey with love for Books. Hope that you will get more amazing experiences and inspirations.

Posted using Partiko Android

I definitely travelled to many places, different worlds, on through times through my books. :)

Ohh the fond memories 🥰 Thanks @chireerocks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to read this response and welcome.

Congratulations @bearone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 40000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 41000 upvotes.
You made more than 5000 comments. Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.06% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.637 which ranks you at #1727 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 186 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11