You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There Is Always Hope!

in #busy5 years ago

Congratulations. I know how hard that is.

Today. This day was the last day I was fucked up. 29 years ago. I celebrate my 'birthday' on June 18th because I was so messed up I wasn't sure when the last day I used or drank was and I wanted to pick a day that I KNEW I was clean and sober.

It's been a long strange journey, but so worth it. I'm really glad you are getting it done. And let the record show there is a lot of things you don't say in an AA meeting :)

I understand family 'giving up'. There is a point, there is a place, where people just can't deal with it anymore. Different for every person. I was lucky my mother never gave up. She didn't want to see me for a while, but never quit on me entirely. I think they end up taking it personally and you and I both know that it isn't. Personal. It's just convenient to screw family members...

Sort:  

Wow @bigtom13, congratulations on 29 years!!! That is huge! 👏

let the record show there is a lot of things you don't say in an AA meeting :)

Oh, I always learn the hard way! haha, yeah, very true lol.

Indeed, there are times when emotions trigger cravings, both in the negative ways, and the cunning "I want to celebrate" ways, and tends to me my first thought when stressed out. "I need a drink!" a bit of pattern repetition in the brain and just takes the rest of your life to undo 😄

This sobriety journey has been mostly positive for me, and gave way to working through childhood trauma, which I can effectively say was the "root". It was essential to get in touch with the root, the "why am I drinking and what do I need to let go of."

It's very empowering, and two years is a ripple in the pond compared to 29 years, so if I have you telling me it's good, I'm sure it will only get better from here!

Thank you so much for your uplifting message to me Bigtom13, and congratulations on your success in maintaining a healthier happier life, free from these substances that destroy lives and tear apart families.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79