DIY | How You Can be a Smarter Consumer ! | Simple ways to Save $$ in the Kitchen

in #busy6 years ago

IMG_0401.JPG

Good morning my Fellow Steemians! As Consumers we at can be mercy of those who produce the foods and products we eat and use on a daily basis. The simple law of supply and demand drive these prices up each day.

I enjoy learning how I can produce as many of the products which I use in my home.

By doing this, I'm assured that the products I use are:

  • Authentic
  • Fresh
  • I save Money!

For all of you who love to cook and bake you can appreciate the expense involved when purchasing specialty oils and butters and flours. Fresh and pure is important!

From time to time, I would love to share my ideas with you, my friends. I hope you’ll find them useful!

Yesterday I shared my Chocolate Alligator Pear recipe with you here. One of the ingredients used in this recipe was...

Coconut Butter

How do we use Coconut Butter?

In the Kitchen:

  • Coconut butter is wonderful in smoothies,
  • Cooking
  • Desserts

Health benefits :

  • Immunity Booster
  • Destroys harmful bacteria, viruses and funguses
  • High in fiber
  • Coconut Butter is full of healthy fats which keep you feeling full!
  • Coconut butter is also used as a wonderful moisturizer for your skin
  • The fatty acid present in Coconut butter helps prevent wrinkles, helps remove age spots.
  • Use it as a lip balm
  • Shaving cream
  • Eye makeup remover
  • Bath Oil
    source

Quite a versatile product don't you think?

The last time I checked a 14 ounce jar of organic coconut butter cost around $12. Wow!

I can purchase a bag of organic unsweetened shredded coconut for less than $3, and make coconut butter myself! You can too!

Let me show you, come along!

IMG_4356.JPG

Ingredients
Organic Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
Organic Coconut Oil

This is so quick and easy. Place your unsweetened organic shredded coconut in your food processor.

IMG_4483.JPG

Blend for 10-15 minutes, stopping periodically to push coconut down in processor. Patience is key here! You won’t think this will work but it will.

If you wish you may add a small amount of coconut oil, I did not have to.

See! I told you! It’s beginning to look creamy!

IMG_4359.JPG

Just when you feel like it’s not going to smooth out, it does! So hang in there, it’s worth it.

Voila! Coconut Butter!

coconutbutter.jpg

Store your coconut butter in an airtight container. It will harden, and stores well.

Friends, the 16 oz package of organic unsweetened shredded coconut cost between $2-$3 dollars per package and made about 8oz of coconut butter. Why purchase a 14 ounce jar costing $12 or more per jar. I don’t know about you, but it sounds like I need to make this myself! I hope you will too!

.

I hope you found this useful and will try making your own! You can! Let me know when you do!
Thanks for stopping by today. I’d love to hear about your latest use for coconut butter.
And as always, blessings to you all!

IMG_0316.JPG

Sort:  

I'am so making this. Coconut is so cheap here. Thanks for the insipration. Resteemed to save recipe ;) Looking forward to more kitchen hacks.

You won't believe how easy it is Amy. With all of the cooking you do I would imagine you could go through a lot of coconut butter. It's so expensive. I do enjoy finding these kitchen hacks! Thanks my friend!

wow i'm impressed! what a good way to save money and get a delicious yummy product :) i showed the family chef ;) he said, "that's great!" (like tony the tiger hehe)

lol I am glaaaaad it is chef approved! It certainly is approved of on this end...by the Mr. Bird! ox Thankee!

So that's it.. it's that easy? And you may not have to use the coconut oil either?

Thank you so much for this recipe. This is wonderfull. I also want to know what I eat as a consumer I try to purchase things with the least ingredients on the lable and as soon as we move to the woods (away from the big concrete jungle that is NYC) we will get into wild foods!!!

Thanks again

Fantastic! Interesting how we as consumers think products we buy are made using high level culinary practices....typically not so! I really like to know how it's made and how I can do it myself! Good luck on moving to the land...you won't regret it. I miss my garden! Thank you for your kind words@senorcoconut!

Thank you so much, it's been a dream in the making for a long time... Just a few weeks away now!

In France there are some frozen products that coul fool just about anyone when it comes to it being prepared using a high level of culinary. It is pretty delicious!

I use it on my kiddos to dilute essential oils. Great idea!!!

I hadn't thought about the essential oils....I'll have to try that! Isn't it amazing what we can easily do! Thank you @thefarmerswife!

Such a wonderful idea. I would have never thought of this!

Thank you @walkerland! I thought you probably already knew about this, you know so much! I hope you'll try it! So many uses!

Thank you for sharing your knowledge! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. Your post is helping people learn to survive and thrive now and in the future!

Thank you! I appreciate being able to share this with everyone! Thank you for including me!

Wow I really need to try this :) I love to read posts like this. So great to learn new things

Thanks so much! I really enjoy sharing this kind of information, I hope you'll try it!

Great idea! Why didn't I think about it;)

I know, crazy isn't it! You'll be so pleased, I hope you'll try it! Thanks!

This is such a great idea! I love making my own nut butters, it's so much cheaper than buying them in stores.

Thank you, so surprisingly simple! You'll be glad you made it yourself!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62623.58
ETH 3021.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72