Bozzlife: I got a new toy!

in #busy5 years ago

IMG_20190907_141232.jpg


About ten years ago, it was time for me to purchase a new grill. I had always wanted an offset barrel smoker and @mrsbozz and I were walking through Target one day and saw one on sale.

It treated us good for many years, but it was a relatively inexpensive model and it didn't quite hold the heat the way that I was hoping it would. Maintaining a consistent temperature for a smoke was difficult and I don't think the airflow was setup as good as it might have been on a more expensive unit.

Another issue I was running into was the fact that the grates were cast iron. Usually the idea of cast iron grates is a benefit and they are highly sought after for their heat conduction and retention. The problem is I live in Michigan and my grill has to stay outside through all four seasons. I've been known to fire it up in a couple of feet of snow even.

The condensation that develops can be really bad for cast iron and the past couple of months it has actually been dangerous to use the grill the way it is. I could never tell if I was picking up small bits of rust and residue when I was grilling on it. I looked into replacement grates, but because the grill was an odd size, it was going to cost over $100 online for custom grates.

I put an immense amount of time and thought into what my next grill would be. I knew I couldn't afford a Big Green Egg like @exyle and @s3rg3 have, or a Kamado Joe like my dad has, or a Traeger like @verhp11 and most of my neighbors have. No, I needed to set my sights on something a little lower.

I had done some work on the side for a local municipality and I got a nice little check from them for the work. I was going to use it to put towards paying off our car loan, but @mrsbozz encouraged me to splurge a little and spend some on myself.

IMG_20190907_141239.jpg


I am a charcoal purist. I have never willing owned a gas grill. I don't know as though I would ever waste my money on one. My two main options were one of the many varieties of Weber Kettle, or the Portable Kitchen PK grill. I know people that have PK Grills love them and because they are made of aluminum they last for a very long time.

As you can see by the pictures, the Weber Kettle ultimately won out. The two main reasons I went with the Weber Kettle were because they are so standard you can basically get replacement parts for them anywhere. The hardware store I bought it at had countless replacement grates, lids, and accessories for them.

Speaking of accessories, that is the other reason I picked a Weber. Due to the fact that it is such a timeless standard, there are possibly hundreds of accessories you can purchase to work with your grill. Some of them just make using it easier and others turn it into a whole different beast. Take the Kettle Pizza for example.

IMG_20190907_141350.jpg


I could have spent all day looking at the different models of Weber grills at my local Ace Hardware. I initially thought I was going to get the 22" Master Touch, but the 22" Performer with the attached folding side table looked pretty nice. It was only $60 more than the Master Touch. When the guy came back and said they didn't have one in a box I flip flopped back to the Master Touch.

As you can see from the picture, the Master Touch also comes with a cooling rack (which I will probably rarely use) the special grate that allows the center to come out so you can add all manner of accessories like waffle irons, cast iron searing grates, and dutch ovens. The Master Touch also comes with the charcoal baskets so you can use the grill as a smoker.

When the worker came back and said that was the last one of those they had too, I was done changing my mind. I asked if he would sell it to me and when he said yes, we loaded it into my truck.

It was in great shape because it had just been the display model and now I didn't have to spend the rest of my day putting my new grill together! I also figured I can probably build a nice weatherproof side table out of treated lumber or cedar for less than the $60 extra the performer cost.

After a quick thirty minute "burn in" to get rid of any chemicals from the manufacturer we grilled some chicken breasts and they turned out fantastic. I can't wait to get my hands on a pork shoulder and spend a day smoking it!

The grill was a little more expensive than I had planned (I think part of what you are paying for is the Weber name), but it was still a fraction of the cost of the grills I mentioned above. I think it should give us at least another ten years of great food and good times though!


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

Fantastic buy! This is an amazing grill. I used this one for years and years (I actually got it from @s3rg3 when he bought an egg) and you can do magical things with it. Enjoy it, man! You won't regret it! Weber is a great brand!

Thanks! I appreciate it! I have one of the little Weber grills that we take camping with us, but this is my first full size Weber Kettle. Now I need to start saving up for some of the accessories. The Slow and Sear and the vortex look cool!

I am glad mrsbozz convinced you to splash on your self we all need to do that sometimes and I look forward to the post when you first fire it up :)

I am excited for that too!

I can see you firing it up with such a huge smile on your face LOL

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I have alway had a Weber too before I got the me the Traeger, awesome grill with great usability and results... You're going to have loads of fun with it. Congrats !!! And yes of course you pay a bit more because of the name, but it is quality all the way....

It seems that way. I am really excited about it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95