Four Mirrors butterfly

in #busy6 years ago


I have started a project to raise Orizaba silkmoths, also known as "Mariposa cuatro espejos"(Four mirrors butterfly)

Mariposa-cuatro-espejos-1024x574.jpg
source


This is an update on the project. The worms are eating quite a lot, and if pooping a lot as well (as you can notice). I have kept them inside boxes while I wait for them to get bigger and put them in regular plants.

They have dark and green rings with bright green spots.

01.jpg


There is a problem of over exploitation of this butterfly and is starting to become extinct. The specie is starting to disappear in Sonora and now they are collecting them from Sinaloa, Mexico (neighbor State)


I want to encourage the re population of this specie. I will keep updating the progress of these silkworms and hopefully I can reach the butterfly stages.

If you want to know more about this butterfly you can read this article

Sort:  

@camaund How cool. I used to raise the Monarch Butterfly many years ago. It started by grabbing some milkweed growing wild in a local field. Then hunting down some caterpillars and watching the cycle. It was so awesome and very rewarding. I sure do miss it. Seeing you on your adventure makes me think I should do something similar. Thank you. Good Luck on your venture, I hope you bring more beauty in to our World. :-)

Hey thanks a lot for the vote. It is really awesome, I was surprised at how they can eat so much in a little time, and they just keep themselves busy.

This post has received a 2.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @naturalguy.

My free gift. Reminder to all, I always follow for follow.

The butterfly looks very nice.Thank you for introducing a different type of butterfly.

This post has received a 2.31% upvote from thanks to: @naturalguy.
For more information, click here!!!!

Try the new Minnowhelper Bots for more information here

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62467.35
ETH 3004.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87