You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sci-fi Story - Independent Cinema - Part 1

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

I can't make any definitive comments about the story or the writing style until I've read the other parts, which I will do when they are posted. Nevertheless, I feel comfortable saying that your writing might benefit from an editor. On randomly skipping up into the story, I found the following:

”Let me see what I could do," I replied.

In addition to the quotation mark's being the wrong way around, the word "could" needs to be "can." There are other issues, as well. One of which is that the movie titles should probably be either italicized or set in quotation marks: The Dark Sun or "The Dark Sun."

As a reader, my attention was caught by the story, and I am interested to find out what happens next. However, I wonder whether you could have a bit less dialogue and a bit more action and description. When the narrator talks about having been accused by his son of mistreatment, how does that make the narrator feel? Does he cast his eyes down, perhaps indicating that he agrees with his son's allegation and feels shame? Does he speak in a gruff voice that is on the edge of tears? Does he cross his arms and kick the chair with the tip of his shoe? By the way, we don't learn the name of the narrator in this section. This might have been intentional, but my own thinking is that when you have a serial story, you should establish character names the moment (or close to it) that they appear.

Another thing to thing about in terms of your dialogue is attribution. What I mean is that, by the time I got to the dialogue "'People got used to those soulless movies,'"' I wasn't sure who was talking. You could add a "said Timur" (I think that it is supposed to be Timur). I am not saying that you never do that--clearly, you do--only that you might want to do it more frequently.

As I said, I am interested to read the rest. You have won the biggest battle: both capturing and keeping my (the reader's) attention.

Sort:  

Thank you for the comprehensive criticism. I appreciate that. I plan to publish my future works in English as ebooks. (I write them in Turkish, then translate to English) I will need an editor in professional terms whose mother tongue is English. I use Grammarly to edit my work; though it helps, it is not sufficient.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69447.18
ETH 3689.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.30