If trees could speak|| the essence of life...

in #busy6 years ago

images (2).jpeg

There is a truth that trees are essential to life-Biology; that is to say that, if you plant trees, you are planting hope- this a statement a tree will make if it could talk.

Come to think of it, do you know how things would change if there were no trees? No! We are not concerned, but the main reason behind our climate is the fact that we barely consider trees as being that important. We are talking about development, so we trip for beautiful buildings (skyscrapers here and there) and trees become victims of destruction (deforestation is the word I was looking for).


DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA.png

Here, are the words the trees would say if it had the chance to meet us one on one and express itself;

. Your survival depends on my existence: This is so true because I strip the very hazardous gases you would breathe and feed you with clean air, comfort and cool fresh air especially in hot and sunny days. Also, in landscapes were I am used, I serve as much as lowering your heart rate and reduce your stress level.

. If you plant me you are planting hope: You think about the future-coming generations? Yes, I outlive them as I can survive for hundreds of years and still supply clean air like I was a new born.

images (3).jpeg

. Every day I supply you with oxygen, show mercy: on a daily bases you kill me with your used carbon(iv)oxide, as that is not good enough you still want to cut me down? Why? But even on your dying bed I supply you with oxygen wishing you can be alive just for as long as I can breathe to you because I care…

. Don’t you think I’m worth living: though I am outdated as you would put it, I still help in reducing air conditioning cost because something as dangerous as Freon won’t be released from Air conditioners to damage the ozone layer as frequent as it does when I am not around?

. My friends were killed in the name of development, do you still want to cut me down: unlike my friends who were destroyed since the emerald ash borer was discovered in Metro Detroit in year 2002 in America. I don’t want to die yet; I can still serve you well…

. I’m so helpless: it is true that I am so helpless because, one moment you are under my shade the next moment you are planning to cut me down for an amusement park…

. You will witness species extinction: biodiversity sets in if you are focused on cutting me down. Now, what will the world look like with no trees? I can’t afford to be alone as I function optimally with my friends.

images (4).jpeg

. I beautify your world: unlike beautiful buildings, a green beauty stands out more-with a well decorated and mapped out design, we give the best beauty eyes can set on.

. I help increase the value of your property: I can make your $10 become $20 when property payment comes up as a compensation for my destruction, so through me you become richer in health and wealth.

. I help in generating jobs and give raw materials needed for buildings and industries (paper, rubber etc.) as I can be recycled and used time and time again.

. I help provide shelter and food for wildlife: You want to destroy me, have you considered the birds, the squirrels etc, were would they find shelter and food. I’m not just helpful to humans alone but also to the animals.

. Do you always want to feel good? Do you want to have a quiet or silent time? Do you want to have peace of mind and clear thoughts too? Where do you go to? The tree! Because I’m the best bet for your connection to the natural environment. Not to talk of your work, I help boost the rate of your productivity-you really concentrate when you are under my leaves.


DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA.png

Planting trees is one of the easiest and most sustainable ways to effect the positive change in our environment; they are also a lifeline to a cleaner and healthier environment.

HOW DO WE PLANT TREES…?

Before we plant trees, there are certain factors that must be considered;

a. The season,

b. The reason and

c. The location.

a. The season: it is advisable to plant trees in September through November (in the northern hemisphere) as it allows the roots to become established before ground freeze and winter. The wet season too, if not the best season is the perfect time to plant trees as seasonal rain can help in watering it as the roots become established rapidly. Nonetheless, in case you plant it in the dry season, watering it would be the plan as you would need to feed it with about 15 to 20 gallons of water a week until they can strive less with it.

b. The reason: The reason for tree planting is tremendous as it varies from person to person but the very basic reason for tree planting has been discussed above.

c. The location:

. Your house is the best spot for tree planting as it provides shade from the sun when placed in the right spot. Talking about right spot; strategic tree planting spot helps lower utility cost-if your house requires or allows 3 trees, it is best if you take the north of the house as it helps shade the sun in summer, west and east axis as it blocks the winter wind. These locations benefit us as it can result in as much as 50% reduction in energy cost.

. Another good location for tree planting is in the parking lot; it it is a hostile place for this purpose but it is very beneficial as it provides cool shades for vehicles in bright and sunny weather.

. What about the sidewalk bump-outs; this is one of the most demanding locations for planting trees. Have you ever walked on a hot weather and feel the harshness of the sun? It helps reduce stress and tiredness (tree-shade).

. At the plazas- trees planted here have huge aesthetic effect and are highly beneficial…

. In urban areas where drainage systems are very considered and storm water seems to take over, trees are used as part of a storm water retention strategy as pit designs are done to successfully control the urban drainage system. This method is usually referred to as SUDS-Sustainable Urban Drainage Systems.


DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA.png

TIPS FOR TREE PLANTING

tree_plant.jpg

  1. Place the tree after digging a hole 2 to 3 times the size of the root ball of the tree and push it to the bottom of the hole.

  2. Fill back the soil around the root and ensure the trunk is straight facing the direction of the sun.

  3. Drive stakes through the soil that surrounds the tree and tie a rope loosely to the trunk so as to prevent it from wind.

  4. Watering the plant immediately after planting is optional but watering every morning is quite necessary until it thrives and the roots are quite solid on the ground.

  5. Applying fertilizer can be of benefit but must be done the following year so that it doesn’t be of harm to the plant.

N/B: Digging a wide planting hole is the key to fast and healthy tree growth for it allows enough air to penetrate the soil to the roots.


images (5).jpeg

If the tips above are observed when planting a tree, then we will have beautiful trees swaying their colorful leaves at us with refreshing breeze and smiles.

Picture sources

1, 2, 3, 4,5


@dazzy

Sort:  

Congratulations @dazzy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Congratulations @dazzy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67