This is Venezuela. "I just wanted to eat my empanada."

in #busy6 years ago

The daily life of Venezuelans is full of frustration, guilt and, in many cases, hunger. It is well known throughout the world that Venezuela is going through a humanitarian crisis, led by the main leaders of the left, who screwed power like screws, stole and squandered the entire budget of our beloved country in who knows what.

One day last week, on Wednesday if I remember correctly, I decided to spend a good part of my salary of the week and I goes to eat some empanadas in one of the places where empanadas are most tasty, here in Cumaná. I think I will not have advanced half a block when a lady approached me to ask me to give her a little (she was not a woman from the street or something) I had not even tried my empanadas when someone was already asking me to I gave them, I must admit that bothered me something, why? Because to buy those empanadas I had to spend about 4 days of my salary for the week and I was really hungry, I became crazy and with some bitterness in my body I kept walking.

Approximately one block later, when I was approaching the public transport stop, a child started walking behind me and I really noticed something aggressive, with an impetuous attitude, at a certain moment he started walking beside me and while so he asked me to give him the empanadas, I said no and I accelerated my step, again with some anguish and remorse inside the body. According to me, the fact of have a simple street meal with me seemed to make me stand out from the rest of the passers-by and it was just at that moment that I realized that mine was a small light in the dark abyss of poverty and hungry.

Surely at this point, you believe that the situation could not be worse, but it was. When I went down off public transport, after an hour of traveling, I noticed that a man of about forty, rather thin and careless, looked at me with great interest and with a certain envy in his eyes, as I approached. The man in a desperate and violent movement to seize the bag in which I had my empanadas, could not do it, the bag was torn and fell to the ground, the man just could catch one empanadad and keeped running throught the street.

That act broke my heart, I just let loose some expletives in the air with a lot of anger, the people who pass looked at me like crazy, maybe they wondered why so much scandal for a empanada. Although I'm not sure what happened in their minds, surely they thought it was an exaggeration, but, they did not know that what affected me less the least was the fact that they took the empanada, NO!, what hurt me the most was the fact of knowing that hunger and need are destroying society and that this is getting worse every day.

As if I had not had enough for a day, when I was arriving at my house I ran into a boy over 17 years of age scrutinizing in the trash of a fast food trailer. I was very surprised by the fact that the boy seemed to have a certain ability or reflections in the garbage basket, just at that moment, that I could see a girl who approached him and gave him what appeared to be half hot dog, The boy's face lit up like a concert stage. What I saw made me feel a little bad, began to ask me if that child of the empandas had eaten that day.

These are the things that day after day we live the few Venezuelans to whom even the salary reaches us to buy us two empanadas. It is a story that tells a small part of the reality that we live every day in my country and I hope, change very soon.
NyxDoug.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dougnyx from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hola @dougnyx, upv0t3
Este es un servicio gratuito para nuevos usuarios de steemit, para apoyarlos y motivarlos a seguir generando contenido de valor para la comunidad.
<3 Este es un corazón, o un helado, tu eliges .

: )


N0. R4ND0M:
3287 9908 5912 2713
6339 4693 5561 7097
8885 5199 9278 1756
7699 7894 2874 3658

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66214.90
ETH 2997.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73