Gardening Noob #3: I Killed My Lawn By Accident...Oops

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit! How's it going? It's been 17 days since my last post. I have been working a lot lately and trying to do some gardening, but it seems like I keep making everything worse. So let me tell you about my most recent mishap... I totally murdered my lawn.


Original Image Source

Last year I used this stuff on my lawn to kill the massive amounts of clover and dandelions. It was called "broad spectrum weed killer." It targeted the clover and the weeds and left the grass alone. It worked so well that I told Brad to get a bigger container of the "weed killer" so I could start fixing my lawn again this year.

When he brought out the container with the handle spray pump in from the garage I got to work right away spraying every single weed I could find in my front and back yards. It took about an hour (my yard is small!)
And everything SEEMED fine for a couple days. I figured our lawn would look great for the beginning of summer.

Then the weeds started turning yellow...which I didn't remember happening last year. Then the grass around it started to die...so I started researching, thinking I might have sprayed too much of this "specific" weed killer on my grass. Every forum post I read got an automatic reply of "are you sure you didn't use weed AND grass killer?"

The funny part is I remember thinking "who wouldn't know that they were spraying weed AND grass killer on their lawn...hah!" Turns out... that was me. I trusted that Brad got the right thing from the hardware store.....and I didn't bother to read the bottle......

and look at the result!

Seriously, my lawn is dead. So now we have had to rip up all the dead patches (at least half of my lawn) replace the soil, and add seed.

What's left of my grass....ugh!


We bought a "seeding cover" to protect the seeds and hopefully get them to germinate faster.

Here is my lawn right now with the seed covers...

So, that is what I have been stressing out about for the last couple weeks. This gardening season is really not starting out too well......lol! What is the lesson learned in all of this? READ THE BOTTLE and don't trust Brad (just kidding hun)..haha.

I am always happy to hear your comments below...whatever the topic! I hope to hear from you all soon! Emily

Sort:  

Sorry to hear that. But hey, there is always something to learn from whatever happens. Next time you know pretty well what to do.

Good to see you, my friend @emmyem84 :)

Thanks for the encouragement @rezoanulvibes ;)

yeah dandelions seem especially bad this year. I never really had an issue with them in the past but this year they are everywhere.

Yeah! They seemed really bad this year. Plus they are perennials, if you don’t get all of the root they will come back forever! I was thinking of getting my law completely re sodded but it was going to cost $1500 at least and my neighbor who did it last year is still struggling with her lawn. Seems hopeless lol

that a very very beautiful settlement @emmyem84

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50