You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Think I will not Try Voice from EOS

in #busy5 years ago

This is a comment that I left on another post concerning the EOS social media platform that was suppose to destroy Steemit and I'd like to share it here with some minor edits:

“We can not solve our problems with the same level of thinking that created them.” - Albert Einstein

I have a lot of respect for Dan Larimer. It was his father, Stan Larimer, that got me interested in BitShares and Steem. Brilliant minds!

I personally do not believe that the developers of EOS, including Dan, have solved the problems of Steemit, because I do not believe they have successfully identified the problems. Steemit was supposed to be an experiment for building a social network on a blockchain, but the builders approached it through a financial and coding perspective. They did not adequately look at human nature, psychology and sociology. Facebook's success was, in part, due to the exploitation of social behavior and human relationships. This also included, in the beginning, the ability to conceal your identity.

A better distribution of our currency is crucial, and this is another problem. This was supposed to be about challenging capitalism, but we have ended up with the same top-heavy model; with just a few Whales having more power than all other users combined!

Maybe VOICE has found a way to solve the economic part of the equation, but as Einstein said above, I believe that the same minds and the same thinking that created Steemit, have created VOICE without really considering things like human nature, human relationships and human expression. It'll soon become a platform dominated by developers and economists.

I personally believe Steem will do just fine, and will even attract those who will end up being rejected by VOICE.

Steem On my Sisters and Brothers!

Sort:  

Thanks for this Heavy answer ! !! I totally agreed that there’s is some distribution problems here on Steem, but I want to think that it could change with time ! The Einstein citation works super well for that case study! I will keep it in mind for sure. Anyway I will look more on this project as it will go further :-)

Again, thanks you, I hope you’re just fine !

@anttn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88