HF 20 Witness Update

in #busy6 years ago

Hardfork 20 caused me a lot of trouble.
After the fork, I could not transact ( like most of you ) because of the RC bug.
In my case, that meant my witness transactions were not going through and I could not make a witness update. I lost a few more blocks and could only watch helplessly.

Why my witness was deactivated

I had to update Steemd a few times.
That means, I have to download and compile the latest version of the Steem software on a server.
Then, I have to index the blockchain. On my machine, that takes ~24 hours.

I can only afford to pay for one dedicated server - that means, while I update and replay, I have to broadcast to the blockchain, that my witness is deactivated, so I do not miss any blocks, while I update.

Good practice would be, to have at least two servers.
I have to make due with what I have.

Why my witness is deactivated

As I write this, I am about to deactivate my witness again.
I had activated yesterday, after I thought I had updated to v0.20.5

( Source steemd.com )

I am pretty sure, I have cloned the right branch, but the status shows otherwise.
I will have to deactivate, while troubleshooting.

Why my price feed is outdated

My price feed is stale.
That is on purpose.
I have a script to take care of the feed.
I deactivated the script.
As a low-rank backup witness, my feed has no influence and I figured I can deactivate it for now and save some bandwidth on the blockchain.

How I lost so many blocks

Every day, the account @witnessupdate sends me a friendly notice, that I have missed 10% of all blocks, I was meant to sign.
I reached that impressive ranking in the hall of shame within a few hours of my witness career.
Partly, I was relying on the fact that if I miss more than 4 consecutive blocks, my witness gets deactivated by default. During this glorious moment however, I ended up in a top20 rank and this behaviour changed. I missed 287 blocks in a row.
I was asleep during that time.
I had tried scripts which are included in conductor, but they would not have worked in that situation anyways, since the nodes which the script would communicate with, were broken too at the time .... I had no script running, though.

I am somewhat protected against this scenario now.

Witness votes

I have lost a good chunk of witness votes the last days.
During and after the hardfork, a lot of people paid more attention to their witnesses.
I am still not sure, what my conclusions from this experience are.

Perhaps I could answer some questions about the status of my witness and convince you to vote for me (again).

Further questions ?

Please comment below,

@felixxx

Sort:  

Oh, sorry @felixxx!

Ich hatte dich vor kurzem abgewählt, weil ich wohl etwas falsch verstanden hatte. Ich hatte gedacht ("inaktiv oder deaktiviert" stand in der Liste), dass du kein Zeuge mehr sein möchtest.

Nach deinem obigen Artikel habe ich dich selbstverständlich sofort erneut als Zeuge gewählt.

Es tut mir leid, dass du viele Stimmen verloren hast.

Ich vermute, viele andere User hatten, so wie ich, ebenfalls diesen falschen Schluss gezogen.

Kannst du nicht eventuell noch die User, die die abgewählt haben, noch mal gezielt informieren, dass du als Zeuge gewählt werden möchtest?

Liebe Grüße, @double-u

Kannst du nicht eventuell noch die User, die die abgewählt haben, noch mal gezielt informieren, dass du als Zeuge gewählt werden möchtest?

Ich habe nicht den besten Überblick, wer das nun im einzelnen war - Ich habe nur beobachtet, wie ich im Rang gefallen bin.
Ich möchte niemandem ein schlechtes Gewissen machen - Es gibt auch gute Gründe, mich nicht als Witness zu wählen.

Du warst einer der ersten, für den ich meine Witness- Stimme abgegeben habe und das soll auch weiterhin so bleiben. Daher alles Gute und steem on!

Hardfork 20 caused me a lot of trouble.

MeToo :-)

Aber dich als Witness hat es viel härter getroffen. Ich bedauere dich zutiefst. Aber ich bleibe dir treu, denn du bist viel mehr Opfer als Täter.

Steem on, mate!

Obviously still voting for you, hope you can pay for a second server in the forseeable future :)

This post has been revived by steem-forever!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I voiced my concern during and after hf20 about its delivery and execution.
And all I got was my drop from #92 to #148 currently.
Tell me about problems:)

Well I guess haejin realized he wouldn't get money for his witness vote anymore, and that's why he retracted his vote :/

my voting power is back on.

kannst du @bittrex mal bitte helfen, endlich wieder Steem deposits zu enabeln? :D

Looks like yu got screwed by the system big time

What a lot of ordinary users do not understand is who has done the testing. Is it doable or was it too much or do witnesses rely on steemit employees etc. Ned said witness must test it etc etc No need to answer (save your RC) just sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84