You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Engage on Steem, and twitter and discord and....

in #busy5 years ago

This is something I've been thinking about for a while and I think that some of what you have said is spot on, @whatsup. Specifically:

We get mad at people who are reward farming

A rage that is not misplaced I think. However, engaging here - which is not instant - is also garnering rewards. So, perhaps it's a balance between instant gratification (and my erudite friend @quillfire will wax lyrical about this) and reward.

we limit their RCs and discourage them from testing out different types of posts for fear of disapproval or flags

BOOM!

I do find, though, that in addition to the realtime chats on Discord - more so than on Twitter - one does say/have discussions that one wouldn't necessarily have on the more "public" blockchain.

My 2c worth...
Fiona

Sort:  

@fionasfavourites & @whatsup,

What can I say ... I MASSIVELY engage on Steemit ... far more than all the other social medias/Discord combined. And, that engagement is the key to not only the relationships I've fostered, but also to my "Brand."

Check out the comments section on ANY of my posts ... and remember, I've only got a $0.02 upvote when my VP is 100% charged. People are not coming for the money. Now check out my comments and replies on other people's posts ... and check out their wallets. I comment on what I find legitimately interesting, not on what is most potentially lucrative. Indeed, read the comment-reply thread on this still active post:

https://steemit.com/share2steem/@simplymike/simplymike-1554573503973-quote-of-the-day---this-is-me

This reality, obvious to everyone, has resulted in ferocious loyalties and reciprocal engagement.

On my Steemversary, I launched a "QuillFire Roast or Toast" Contest.

https://steemit.com/powerhousecreatives/@quillfire/the-quillfire-roast-or-toast-celebrating-quill-s-steemit-birthday-massive-sbi-prizes-com-47

There was not one real Roast. Every single one of the entries, despite a huge effort on my part to provoke people into a Roast, ended up doing a 'Toasty Roast' or a 'Roasty Toast.' I couldn't even pay people to take a head shot. The bonds that have been created between us are simply ... unbelievable. There is a dynamic on Steemit that exists nowhere else: A shared adversity and shared fate that results in a connection similar to that experienced by soldiers: A Band of Brothers.

This, despite the Whale-orchestrated cheating that has destroyed curation and the concept that content ought to be compensated commensurate with its quality.

If the "Reality of Steemit" were to match the "Theory of Steemit," the blockchain would experience explosive growth almost overnight.

Quill

I concur, @quillfire, in addition to my previous comments. Like you, I engage on Steemit and find it odd that a post like this (https://partiko.app/@fionasfavourites/universal-basic-unit-a-south-african-blockchain-project-for-universal-benefit), written to generate discussion on something that I would have thought was "on topic" and which has much discussion in the comments has earned zip by comparison with the snaps posted via #share2steem like this one https://partiko.app/@fionasfavourites/fionasfavourites-1554494782106-weekend-work on which there were few, if any comments.

So yes, you are spot on:

This reality, obvious to everyone, has resulted in ferocious loyalties and reciprocal engagement.

Which is why communities, themes and contests are so much a feature of these communities.

What I had hoped you would weigh in on are the issues of the effect of positive comments, downvote bots with their rude and often crude remarks, not to mention the bullies that indulge in ad hominems. It is exactly this behaviour that precludes people like me from weighing in on certain issues.

Posted using Partiko Android

PS I wrote this comment before I had seen your additional comment. Very interesting potential development :D

Well done and I will check it out. What you are saying makes perfect sense to me though.

I also engage a lot on Steem, and also feel I have a great following of real people!

@whatsup,

Thanks.

BTW, I've been mulling over this dramatoken idea of yours. It actually has the potential to create some very interesting dynamics (I own an advertising agency). Is there a White Paper, or something similar, articulating your intentions and the token's design specifications?

Cryptocurrencies aren't about computer code, they're about genetic code ... and your idea taps into a number of very primal drives.

Quill

https://hackmd.io/EaVtPyNwTi6BoxpNnhLXJA

It's a view document that many devs use.

The token supply is limited 20k annually during the bootstrap phase. we have an very undeveloped plan for an app. And we plan to play off the idea everyone on the Internet knows what drama is. It is our goal to give it a name and a face with dRAMA.

Yep, toys, tee shirts and twitter tokens could be a phase 3 goal.

@whatsup,

Very interesting. 10 Drama to call, great idea. It creates an army of committed Curators while decreasing the percentage of the Money Supply in Circulation. And, a LOT of 'opinionated people' would want to possess the Power to Call as a means of sticking it to one another ...

"You're a Diva." !dramatoken

"No, you are." !dramatoken

The Social Justice Warriors, with all their crying and caterwauling (about everything), would be !dramatokened to death.
.


.
I also love the idea about creating a list of DRAMA'd posts (perhaps a bonus for being crowned the Grand Diva). Such a list is an evening's worth of entertainment ... and an invitation to engage. :-)

The big payoff, for the token ... but also STEEM/Steemit ... is it's use off-blockchain: On FaceBook; Twitter; YouTube; etc. This is a GREAT (novel, cheap and effective) way to make STEEM/Steemit Top of Mind and draw in new users. It creates good-natured curiosity and a desire to claim one's winnings ... which would require a STEEM/Steemit account. Being crowned Grand Diva would itself be newsworthy ... and semantically important (positively or negatively).

This is one of the best blockchain development ideas, in general, I've seen in 16 months ... and certainly the best I've seen respecting marketing. If the Whales have an IQ of 2 between them, they will line up to support this project. This has the potential to make STEEM/Steemit a "Universal Commentator" on all other social media platforms.

I will go check to see how many DRAMAs I have earned ... I want 10. I'm toying with writing a poem ... to earn some more. :-)

Very nice job, WhatsUp.

Quill

I do know and am fine with it being under-estimated right now, as I am working on several other parts of the plan. He needs some polish and so does my plan.

He has performed very well in his opening debute

Totally agree

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59236.59
ETH 2995.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73