Freewrite Day 445 The Big Freeze

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Freewrite the big freeze fitinfun.jpg

In 1974 we had a blizzard in MAY that closed school, work, and life as we knew it for a week. My parents house was down at the bottom of a steep hill. After two days of white out snow conditions, we had many feet of it down there. It was up against the doors of the house and you could not tell where the street was. No one even got out of the house that first day.

We all started digging out for the next couple of days. Unlike the photo in my poster above - no one had a snowblower in those days. Finally a pack of us kids decided to go to the store when all the families were out of milk and supplies. This was a couple of miles walk after the top of the hill and took us hours.

To our surprise, nothing was plowed up there either. It was MAY, so it wasn’t even cold by this time. Just a crazy warm place with huge deep snow starting to melt. The boys stomped paths, and we girls followed, and my fat self thought I was going to die.

We finally got to the strip mall convenience store and it was deserted. Nothing was open at all. Nothing was plowed – not even the biggest street. The only thing to do was turn around and go back home again with nothing. The parents could not believe this when we returned. Everyone had assumed it was only us in the low part still snowed in.

The snow finally got plowed a few days later and then it was spring with gigantic snow hills on both sides of all the streets for weeks.

When people ask me why I was a teenaged runaway, this was one of the reasons. Anywhere was better than here.

It took me until 1979 to finally move to Florida. I did this at the very first chance I got. I have seen snow again and even lived on a mountain teaching little kids to ski one year. But I prefer to be near the equator and have generally stayed as close by it as I could.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

It is that time of year when the fitness equipment is out and the diet books are being read. I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods, and you can too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.


Congratulations @fitinfun!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Shocking story ... Definitely I would also stay away from the freeze you lived.
I liked reading you, By the way, Happy New Year and Happy Kings ... May this new year bring to your life a lot of happiness, prosperity, health and abundance. A hug and a friendly kiss!!

Hi @teresah! So happy to see you. Happy New year to you too and let this be are best year yet.

Not much snow where you are lol

{{{Hugs}}}

There is no snow where I am, I have never touched the snow, That is one of my dreams, playing in the snow. =)

Hello @fitinfun . this is really freeze story my friend...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44