Feed is drying up :(

in #busy6 years ago

Knipsel.PNG
Source
So the title has been set and the cover image has been selected, let's see in which direction this post will evolve!

Drying up!

I do think that we all are having this problem. Yesterday I did clean up my follow list, it is now just above 100. So hard to imagine that the feed is drying up, but it still does!
Lot's of engaged Steemians aren't posting anymore or aren't even active anymore. We multiple types of people who are pausing their steem activities!

  • The ones who just forget;
  • The ones who just forget but have some people on autovoter. These are the ones, who still are counted as active steemians but actually they aren't. But at least they are still earning some Steem via the curation!
  • The ones who just forget but do have a program like smartsteem configured, so that they are selling their votes. These are also still earning by selling their votes and curation!
  • The ones who run away but have delegated lot's of VP towards bid bots! Also they are still earning!

So lot's of different type of people who are not active anymore personally but still will count as an active steemians!
But due to all of this, my feed is drying up. And some posters I really do miss, like @modernpastor for instance. It looks like he completely disappeared from the Steem Blockchain!
Others are only posting an actifit report and so on!
So it is hard to stay engaged on the Steem blockchain with the people I am interested in and are on my feed!

Follow

With the current @steem-ua is has become important again to increase the number of genuine followers! I still always had this idea because I am always posting via busy.org. Which does give me a daily upvote based on the vest my followers have!
Still I will not beg to be followed, people should follow out of interest and not because I will follow them back, so that the steem-ua and/or busy upvotes will have more value!
I did try to look around on the steem blockchain to find some interesting people to follow, but this really is a hard task. I could search trending or the hot section, but that won't do the trick.
Trying to search through the new section is looking for a needle in a haystack!

So that's why I want to ask for some help!

Propose some new members!

I would like to ask all of you, to put one of the steemians you are following forward. That way I can take a look at their blog, and maybe find some interesting persons I didn't know about that I can add to my follow list, so that my feed will give me more opportunities to engage with other steemians!
Is doesn't matter if they only post about a specific niche or not. I do have a wide spectrum of interest!

So that my feed looks more like this:
Knipsel.PNG
Source

I do want to add at least 20 new steemians to my follow list!

Thanks for the help!

Cheers,
Peter


Sports Bettors On Steemit Unite and Join the SBC !


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

I was taught a good trick. Go to the blog page of a Steemian you enjoy following and in the address bar add /feed after their username. This will bring up their feed consisting of who they follow. This way you can kind of see all their recommendations. Another idea is go to their comment sections. If they're commenting on something there's a good chance it's interesting work.

I did try to do it the other way, looking at the ones who they are following, but then you need to click on all the account.
This was is indeed much faster!
Thanks for the tip!

Glad it helped!

I didn’t realize busy calculated its upvote like that. Good to know.

If you are interested in off-grid living, @mountainjewel is my fav.

General reflection on life and steemit would be @tarazkp

Spirituality @atmosblack

Crypto @kingscrown

Those are also ones where I can remember their exact handle off the top of my head.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for thinking of me! I'll keep on posting, although what is said in this post is true. Many people have left and this place isn't what it has been some weeks ago. Let's hope it will change when the markets go up again.
The problem I see is, if what @exyle and others have been saying for quite some time is true - that the Steem blockchain is changing from rewarding blogging and social media (proof of brain) to becoming a ChainOS like EOS and Tron - then I see not much future for Steem. With this move, they are giving up their USP and value for me. Time will tell.

Posted using Partiko Android

hang in there.

I have the same problem and don't know what the answer is; perhaps it takes too long to build up a following, especially when a lot of them stop posting.

Yeah... It's depressing sometimes to see so many good content creators give up and leave the platform permanently, or maybe just to "sit out the storm"... I've been a long time follower of yours and at least we're still here and still active :-)

Another one you should consider for your list may be @diabolika. She posts every day about her efforts and struggles as an entrepreneur and life in general. Of cause, @veryspider cannot be omitted in your list also! And @bembelmaniac writes passionately about parenting and the challenges that brings with it...

As a quick aside: I hope you're unfollowing inactive users only; managing your follower list purely to maximize the UA score would be... well kinda counter-intuitive ;-)

Thanks so much for enduring the storm with us brother! I'll try and visit your blog more often :-)

Thanks for the great recommendations. I decided to follow @diabolika and @bembelmaniac. But also started to follow you!
No I did only unfollow inactive ones! Would indeed be counter-intuitive! :)

Modernpastor has always had a sporadic posting schedule due to having kind of an intense seasonal job. I'm sure he'll be back before too long.

If you're at all interested in art, follow @veryspider and before long you'll know lots of great artists here.

Modernpastor indeed has a different work rhythm than we do!
Thanks for the recommendation, I did have a look at the blog. But while I do have a broad spectrum of interest, art isn't one of them :(

oh if art isn't your cuppa tea, @fromage is a wonderful writer :D he writes fiction, but he also makes great articles on pop culture, movies and games and animes, and all that good stuff :D

really nice !

Sorry about the art thing :(
Thanks for putting fromage forward. I will have a look at his blog!

no problems at all :D people have different tastes, is all good <3

if you likey reading stuff, @zyx066 also always make very good articles :D

additionally @corpsvalues :D he makes really good posts also. he does art, too, but he also writes a lot of interesting thoughts :)

@accio is another wonderful writer. she writes about her life as a mother and how she's doing a million things at once :D

@minismallholding puts very thoughtful contents * ___ *

@anouk.nox writes about transitioning to life in Budapest and other life stories :)

.... I'll stop now before I overwhelm you XD;;;;;

But yeah! Loads of wonderful bloggers :D :D :D

you're so sweet :-) <3

hahahah naaaaaaah i am a spider!!!

a spider cant be sweet !!!

<3 (you are also very awesome!!)

awe thanks for the mention <3

wow thanks for shout out, @tcpolymath <3

you're super super super sweet * ___ *

@fullcoverbetting , yeah Steemit is slowing down considerably ! it is difficult to get good pulse on my feed, also :( so I'll be watching this post for suggestions of active and engaged blogs to follow myself !!!

full disclosure: i make daily posts, ........ which can be a bit much for some people XD

but if what you're looking for is daily, brand new, quality contents, i'd recommend @scrawly also ! she makes awesome stuff * ___ *

Im also Sure RAY will come back... its a hard way to be a Proffesional Soccer/football Player... so im sure we will see him in a few again, if you followed him for a long time you know there was always times when he was more and less active... so stay tuned ;)

I agree .. and remember we are all in the same fish tank with you.
oh yeah, resteemed! :) @fullcoverbetting

Thanks for the resteem, I appreciate it!
Great blog you have. Will follow it. It seems that I can learn of few things from you looking at the latest steem-ua upvote you did get!
Cheers,
Peter

At least you are on my steem auto voter 😁. Regarding follows I have about 170 now and I can recommend @diabolika at the first thought on the topic. She posts daily and you won't get bored reading her posts.

Thanks for the recommendation. If have added her to the list!

I would like to step forward unabashedly and offer myself and my writing for your entertainment! I have followed you for, having checked your list of 106, you seem to follow many of the folks that I do. So, we are on the same journey and you seem to have a huge head start.

I will regale you with tales of sailing, fighting, daddying, cryptoing, and whatever else suits my fancy as I strive to stay active and happy and successful. I generally do not use so many 'and's in my posts but I am going for the excited child style of commenting.

I may go and prune some of the duds as well but I kind of like seeing them pop back up after a summer hibernating away from steem.

Your's truly, @zekepickleman

Hallelujah holyshit.

I did have a look at your blog and the follow is happily returned!

Not into sailing but you do write some interesting stuff. Be prepared for lots of comments from my part! All will be genuine, so if I don't comment on a post, it doesn't mean that I didn't read it, I just had nothing to add to the discussion!

Cheers,
Peter
Ps: I will count the number of and's in your next post :)

Sounds good. I have turned into a social bug and am leaning towards the engagement here because there is nothing like a lively discussion or some laughs to enhance the use experience on the platform. I have an opinion on everything and love to have it changed through thoughtful discussion so I usually have something to add. ;)

That's great to here. If we all had the same ideas and opinions it would be a boring world. Always in for a great discussion where both sides have an opposite opinion but still respect the fact the other can have a different opinion.
And I do know the feeling about having an opinion on everything. Don't forget opinions are like assholes, everybody has one :)
Cheers,
Peter

I'll also need to clean up my followers list one of these days. Right now it really feels like many who are just in for the $$ are giving up. The low steem price combined with the dust treshold also makes it almost impossible to get rewards on comments which highly dropped the amount of comments.

An account I started following recently is @tenniscoaching and it would be nice to see him succeed here.

That is a great recommendation. I have added him to my list!
Maybe he can teach us a thing or 2 :)
Did clean up the list yesterday. Ditched the ones who aren't active anymore for the past 3or 4 months!
Trying to increase the number of people I am following to be more engaged.
The worth of my upvotes forced me to stop with upvoting comments. I do need to use 25% for upvoting a comment above the threshold. It is then just easier to go to their blog and upvote a post, if it is already above the dust threshold!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15