You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem, The Experiment.. New Questions

in #busy5 years ago

This is not an attack on Ned, it doesn't matter WHO it is, it matters that there is a WHO.

I think you're wrong. Someone different might have gotten more done, kept the price up, and given time, the community could eventually take over development. Hell, someone different would have done things completely different in regards to open source development, and we could actually have some community development of the code in place. As it is, a few witnesses contribute. It's pathetic. I think Steemit has discouraged decentralization of the development simply by not making it easier to get involved. On that, I fully blame Ned and the Steemit team. I also blame them for various actions that have held down the price a bit. Under someone else, this would feel more like an open source project and they would have been possibly able to last out the "bear market" until the community could take more of an involved role in the development, if they weren't already. This place has a HUGE community, including a TON of developers, such that projects are popping up all the time. But how much work is getting done on Steem and Condenser, the Steemit front-end?

I think it was a successful experiment in any case. The question is, has Steemit learned from their many mistakes yet, so that this place doesn't sink?

Sort:  

If you are correct and if the community has learned our lesson from the above. Ned is a non-factor. Now we know... What do we do?

Yes, now hopefully the community has learned. I don't think Ned is going to be a "non-factor" though. I just hope we can more to not depending on him and Steemit. I think now we need to organize open source efforts.

I guess we need to organize the developer witnesses and create all the missing trappings of normal open source efforts. I guess maybe we could use one of the forum front-ends. Then we can start getting more of the developers on here involved in the development of Steem and other projects on here.

good answer @whatsup.

We are in unknown territory. Its easy to go he said she said, until you are at the helm of the sinking ship.

Even if ned made the wrong choices, to what extent is it his fault? How much of this is an inherint problem with a blockchain based social media site? My focus on this is, the nodes are FREE access, yet no one chose to do anything but create vote bots. There is more potential, but no one knows the potential except the creators themselves. but they are not in the business of creating dapps, jus creating the infrastructure to allow dapps to occur.

I personally knew that we weren't decentralized and that I didn't always agree with Ned, so he did his thing, I would have done mine.. It's easy to throw rocks now, but I am not sure it matters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91