Are you a time-chaser?

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Image source

Over the past few years, I have noticed more and more that I always feel hurried. Time literally chases me all the time. I feel as if I don't work fast enough, and when I'm done, I still need to cook to feed my family. At the end of the day, I still have to go back to work, because I am not yet done with everything that is still on my to do list. 

This makes me an anxious person, and because of that, I am taking some anti anxiety tablets a few times a week to feel less stressed. The rushed feeling is still there, but the anxiety is a little better. 

I can't even begin to explain why I feel so anxious all the time, because there is absolutely no reason why I should feel so rushed and stressed out all the time. Therefore I have made a conscious decision to change my mind about the way I do things. 

It has become a bad habit, and bad habits should be broken.  

My husband gets a lot done during his workday. He has triple the amount of work I have, if not more, but he gets it done in a nick of time. My husband is one of the most productive people I know, because he is not rushed by time, and he knows how to utilize time perfectly.  

I think people fall into two categories. There are those, who believe they have an abundant amount of time each day and then there are those people like me, that feels like there's never enough time in a day to complete the things you should. 

The fact of the matter is that we both have the same amount of time each day, but we see it from two different views. 

How can we stop chasing time?


  • Make a conscious decision, and change your mind about time. You have the same amount of time and same hours in a day as everyone else in the world. 
  • Work out a schedule, and do the important work first. People feel more chased because they have lists, so don't even bother writing down the unimportant stuff.  Just write down the most important things and get it done! 
  • Be productive.  Don't sit and waste time. if you do, chances are that you will feel rushed again.
  • Complete one task before you start with another. 
  • Take it one day at a time. 

With the exception of my husband, I rarely take personal calls while working. I am able to stay more focused, and actually get more done. 

This is my second week after I have made the decision, and my life is already starting to feel more organized. If I can do this, then YOU can do it. 

Stop being a time-chaser and start working more effectively. 

Hope you have a lovely week!  

  

  

  

    

Sort:  

I have forced myself to wake up earlier and get things done in the early morning when there are no distractions. I have found it has really increased the amount of things I get done during the day.

That has worked for me too. I am more focused in the morning so I write my posts early in the morning, before work then I don't have to stress about writing after school.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Good luck in your challenge!
Reading the line: "don't sit and waste your time", I feel guilty:)
I try to make my days more productive, but unfortunately I don't always succeed.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have the same issue, I get so stressed and then I work less because I stress too much. Silly people we are!

Congratulations @giantbear! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

awesome posting, its inspirations. thanks for sharing :)

I was, But not anymore!👀 we have to make the most of our lives!

Check my blog for some great info to maximiae your life!👀

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.243 which ranks you at #744 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 745).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #374.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86