Be kind to one another....

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

              

              Image source

I had a rough day yesterday and as usual,  drove down to the beach after work to get some peace and quiet.  I parked in my usual spot, and saw a guy sitting on the ground near the dustbin. I have seen him before in the area, but I have never actually spoke to him.  I am not one to pick up conversations with strangers, but when I rolled down my window, he waved at me and I waved back.  

I proceeded with my relaxation ritual, but I could feel that this guy was staring at me. I felt instantly annoyed, because he was disturbing me and it was MY time to relax.  

Fact is, he was just sitting there being friendly, minding his own business, not hurting a fly. 

I was even more annoyed when he got up from where he was sitting and walked towards my car. He was dirty, I could smell him from a distance and the smell became worse the closer he came. 

My first instinct was to close the window, but it would have been just rude, so my immediate response to him was "What do you want?"

Even though I was rude, his answer amazed me. 

"I hope you have a wonderful day ma'am."  

He smiled and all I saw was his bright white teeth. He turned around and walked away. He started humming a song and I could hear him sounding chirpy while he walked away. 

There I sat, worrying and feeling stressed and here was this guy, out of nowhere, looking as happy as a clam!

At first I felt dismayed, but then I felt ashamed of myself. I immediately expected the worst, and all this guy did was to greet me and to wish me well. 

That guy, changed my perspective on things. He made me feel better about myself, and even though he had nothing, and he was dirty, he was kind, and it was more than what I could say.... 

No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted..... 

Be kind to one another. Kindness can change the world. 

  

  

  

  

Sort:  

Oh, what a sobering story @giantbear, I recently told myself that I’m not gonna look down on anyone again, sometimes we look at those so called poor and vulnerable folks and think we’re better that they, but that feeling aren’t always true.

They can be blessing to us too at some point just like your story pointed out. At that point he smiles at you and spoke good words to you; that’s blessing, why do say so? Look at the reason below:)

👇

That guy, changed my perspective on things. He made me feel better about myself, and even though he had nothing, and he was dirty, he was kind, and it was more than what I could say....

I’m blessed with this post.

Still a friend @maxdevalue

Thank you. I really felt awful, because he only had good intentions and I didn't. He made me take a good look at myself, and in future I will definitely think twice about the way I treat people. Thank you for the beautiful comment.

Hi giantbear (71) nice post I really like.

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.251 which ranks you at #767 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #68.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05