Happiness is not to regret anything! (Day 19 of 30 of the Happiness Challenge).

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Image source

Not too long ago I read an article about confessions of people on their deathbeds. Very peculiar topic to talk about but the conclusion might make you change the way you look at things. 

The interviewer asked these people what they regret most in their lives, and what they would do if they could do things differently this time. 

The first lady that was interviewed said: "I'd dare to make more mistakes next time."

Second one said: "I'd relax more and enjoy life more."

Third one said:  "I would be sillier than I have been this trip, and I would take fewer things seriously." 

The fourth one said:  "I would take more chances and I would travel more."

The fifth one said:  "I would climb more mountains and swim more rivers, eat more ice-cream and less healthy food."

The last one said something that hit me right where it matters.... 

He said: 

I am one of those people who live sensibly, and sanely every hour of the day. If I had to live my life over I would live moment to moment.  Just moments. Instead of living so many years ahead of each day. I've been one of those people who never go anywhere without a thermometer, a hot water bottle, a raincoat and a parachute. If I had it to do again, I would travel lighter next time. If I had my life to live over, I would start barefoot earlier in the spring and stay that way later in the fall. I would go to more dances. I would ride more merry-go-rounds. I would pick more daisies.

How many of us, live according to the rules of life? We do the right things at the right time, just because society expects us to be like that. I have never been one to take chances and I'm always trying to be safe. I've taught my children to be strong people that can stand on their own two feet, BUT I've also taught them to enjoy their lives. I see this with my eldest son. 

He has a very strong faith, and a mindset that no one can change. He is exactly the way that I want to be. He will do things in the spur of a moment, while I would overthink something. He is not irresponsible but he also has his moments. I respect that. 

When we are young we live a different type of life, we take more chances and we enjoy life more...why does that ever have to change? 

Don't be irresponsible, but live your life as if you are still young. Age is just a number. 

Do things now, while you still have the time, so that you don't regret anything......

 

 

Sort:  

We should not dwell on regrets of the past that is for sure, but without regret we have no thankfulness, it is as Yin to Yang as it gets. We can never let either control our lives... we just need to let go of possession and enjoy the time.

@giantbear, I agree with you. Do things now, while you still have time, so that you don't regret anything....... This is a great motivational quote. Thanks for sharing this. Resteemed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.242 which ranks you at #792 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 790).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #31.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86