The second honeymoon - Short story- part 2

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Image source

Peter felt a bit tired when he drove to work. These early mornings were not good for him at all. He parked his car in the parking garage at work and took the elevator to his office's floor.  His secretary smiled at him when he walked in. 

"Happy anniversary" she said, and he stopped dead in his tracks. 

"What is the date today?" Peter asked, realizing that he did forget. 

"19 June, it is your wedding anniversary...oh dear don't tell me you forgot again?"

Peter thought about the trip he booked that morning and thought to himself: "Well I'll be damned.. That must have been the reason I've been waking up so early. My subconscious mind have been trying to warn me of something.:"

He smiled and said: "No Julia, for once I did not forget. Could you come through to my office please, I need to check my schedule with you for the next few days.  I booked a trip for me and Sylvia and I need to move some things around so that I can take two weeks off."

Julia nodded and grabbed her diary with his schedule. 

"I booked you a table at La'Orange in case your forgot again, do you want me to cancel it?"

"What would I do without you Julia? Please don't cancel, and phone Sylvia to tell her that we're going out."

Peter was extremely busy during the rest of the day, and at three o clock Julia came in to tell him that his schedule was clear for the days of the trip. 

He left the office just after four, and stopped by the flower shop to buy some flowers for his wife. He drove straight home, and found a smiling Sylvia waiting for him on the couch. 

Sylvia also had a full day. She made an appointment with her doctor and she went for her first ultrasound. She went baby clothes shopping and she bought a little frame to put the ultrasound photo in to give to Peter as a present. She knew he was going to freak out, but she was too far along, and everything was looking great. 

"I have a big surprise for you darling" she said as they walked to the car.  

"This year, nothing could top my present to you" Peter said, unaware that she had already seen the envelope. Since they met nearly thirty years ago, they had been in a race to give each other the best anniversary presents. This year he was sure he had won.  

They walked into the restaurant and as soon as they sat down, Peter handed Sylvia the envelope with the details of the trip. She looked very surprised and thanked him. Sylvia seemed extremely excited and he knew he did her proud.  They discussed the details of the trip and ordered starters. 

Peter ordered champagne, but she declined. It seemed a little awkward to him, but he poured himself a glass, and then Sylvia handed him her present. He smiled. He knew that nothing she gave him could top the present that he gave her. 

He carefully unwrapped the present.  It was a little wooden frame, and inside was a photo. Peter couldn't quite make out what it is and thought it was a joke. 

"This is beautiful Sylvia, but this year I think I won the prize for the best present."

Sylvia smiled and said: "I doubt that....Peter, I'm pregnant....we're having twins"

Peter swallowed down his champagne and poured another glass. He looked at Sylvia and knew that she was serious.

He was too shocked to say anything. 

"The babies are fine, and I spoke to the doctor today. He said it is safe to fly and we should go and enjoy the trip you had planned." 

"You knew about the trip?"

"You left the envelope next to the bed silly....I didn't mean to look, but you have been so up and down at night these last few days that I was worried."

Peter shook his head and smiled before jumping up and kissing Sylvia in front of the whole restaurant. 

"We're having twins!" he shouted and everybody cheered. He jumped up and kissed her full on the lips. When he sat down, he poured himself a third glass of champagne and said with a big smile on his face. 

 "Indeed you have won again my love..." 

-The end-

  

  

Sort:  

NICE POST, nice story. it 's a short story but have something to feel. As a family I know how happy they are. It's as reality story, no fiction. i grabbed it in your plot, simple but to the point. Or may be i am to simple too, and then I get something big in your post..
I like and enjoy it very much..
Thank you for post it

Your article is very good, my game is very fun. https://goo.gl/Dd9394

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01