You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem, Utility Token or Rewards?

in #busy5 years ago

Hey, @whatsup.

I've read some of the posts and comments regarding reducing or doing away with the inflation pool. The first I heard that the actual rate of inflation was higher than the stated amount and that it was scaring away investors (supposedly) was maybe a month or two back. I wouldn't think that such a thing was a so recent development, but maybe more of someone finally bringing it to light.

So, there's a lot of information that needs to be sifted through and then discussed and probably determined to either be useful or not before we even know which way would be best to go. Who does that, I don't know.

I've never quite understood how the alt STEEM tokens on STEEM-Engine or the SMTs for that matter are supposed to gain value. STEEM is publicly traded, which has proven a definite double edged sword. But without widespread access to it beyond the blogging/social media/gaming platform itself, STEEM would be like its alt coins.

So, will SMTs be publicly available for trade, too? And just how will STEEM go away if SMTs are based on it? I mean, it's supposed to be similar to the ERC-20 tokens for Ethereum, right?

I guess getting to know just what the intent of SMTs are would be good to know as far as I'm concerned.

Personally, I don't know if we need so much fracturing. I already have a bunch of alt coins on STEEM-Engine that aren't doing much and of which I have no idea if they have any clearer vision as to what they want to do than STEEM or not. Since anyone and everyone can create one if they so desire, and since many of them seem to be for fun, I don't know. There's fun, and then there's serious investing. Unless you're Dogecoin, I guess. :)

Sort:  

So, will SMTs be publicly available for trade, too?

There will be a decentralized exchanges with STEEM as a trading pair.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78