GOD MOST HIGH

in #busy6 years ago

people-2585962__480.jpg
Source:pixbay.com

In the light of the scripture..
GENESIS 14:17-24

17:After his return from the defeat of Chedorlaomer and the kings who were with him, the king of Sodom went out to meet him at the Valley of Shaveh (that is, the King's Valley).
18:And Melchizedek king of Salem brought out bread and wine. (He was priest of God Most High.)
19:And he blessed him and said, “Blessed be Abram by God Most High, Possessor of heaven and earth;
20:and blessed be God Most High, who has delivered your enemies into your hand!” And Abram gave him a tenth of everything.
21:And the king of Sodom said to Abram, “Give me the persons, but take the goods for yourself.”
22:But Abram said to the king of Sodom, “I have lifted my hand to the Lord, God Most High, Possessor of heaven and earth,
23:that I would not take a thread or a sandal strap or anything that is yours, lest you should say, ‘I have made Abram rich.’
24:I will take nothing but what the young men have eaten, and the share of the men who went with me. Let Aner, Eshcol, and Mamre take their share.”

In this passage, Melchizedek king of Salem makes a friendly gesture to Abram as he was returning from war, and pronounces a blessing upon him.

Abram gave Melchizedek a tithe having performed a priestly role over his life. The God Melchizedek worshipped was El Elyon God Most High.

Though this title may have been common in the Canaanite region, the wording of Abrams reply in 22 I have raised my hand to the LORD, God Most High, creator of heaven and earth... makes it clear that the God Melchizedek worshipped was none other than Yahweh the LORD.

For Abram, it is only Yahweh who can do this great thing give victory over one’s enemies.

Abrams refusal to take the riches of the Canaanites in v. 23 shows his total dependence on God and his blessings. The God Most High is higher than any circumstance of life.

When the challenges of life threaten to overwhelm you, or powerful forces are in alliance against you, remember that you are a servant of God Most High. Depend wholly on him; he will surely give you victory.

WITH ME:
Dear God, draw me to the cross that is higher than I. Teach me a life of total dependence on you no matter the challenges of life I face in Jesus name.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71