Do you have that one awkward friend?

in #busy5 years ago

I think everyone has that one awkward friend that is really unusual and has a really hard time fitting in with the average person they meet.

There might not be anything particularly wrong with the person in question but they just seem to have a hard time interacting with the rest of the world.

friend1.jpg
Pixabay

The friend that I'm talking about is somebody that I met about 15 years ago. We hit it off right away even though the conversation was stilted and a little bit uncomfortable.

We had a class together and ended up having a lot of things in common. I think he was looking for a friend because he was very forward and engaging with conversation.

However it seemed like everything that he said was really weird.

I haven't thought about this guy in a while, but I ran into him last week and I started thinking about him again.

He was in the grocery store with a friend of his and they were walking around looking at potato chips.

We shook hands and exchanged pleasantries. He said that he was doing quite well, and I said something similar.

The thing is.... every single word that came out of his mouth seemed like it had already been written down and he was simply reciting it.

That is the strangest thing about this guy.

It's as if he's reading a script every time he talks. I can't help but wonder if he actually does write down a bunch of different notes and then tries to memorize them so that he can have normal conversations.

If that's what he has to do, then I say more power to him. Certainly I am not judging him or thinking anything unusual about him, but it is definitely always an awkward experience whenever I interact with him.

He doesn't seem to have any cognitive disorder either. He's just a really awkward guy. I think everyone knows that awkward friend.

I think everyone has a friend like that.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I'm am the awkward little in my friend circle, but not as much as your example. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97