Revisiting old stories.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago

How many times have you started writing a story, gotten fairly far into it, and then set aside for one reason or another?

nmnm.jpg
Pixabay

It happens to all of us. I can't even count the number of stories that I've set aside after writing a couple of chapters, and then letting them go for whatever reason. That's not to say that I always do that.

Often times I finish what I start.

However, I can probably think of 15 to 20 stories that are just waiting to be revisited.

A girl waits to be rescued by a group of teenage boys. She's been waiting for about a year now. I think I wrote about 15 to 20 chapters of that story before I let it go.

There's a space station somewhere that has a horrified man running around crazy in it. He's been running around there for at least 18 months I think.

He'll be alright.

It's funny when it happens. We come up with an idea, we see that idea through for a while, then we either hit a brick wall or we simply lose interest in that particular process.

Maybe something better came along.

Sometimes I go back and revisit those stories though. Try to come up with the chapter that I had originally let go of.

As writers we continually grow.

Every year I know I'm a better writer than I was the year before.

I might not have been able to figure the way out of the abandoned house two years ago, but I might know the way out today.

If you've got some stories that you let go of because you couldn't figure out what to do with them, then you might want to check them out again.

You're not exactly the same person you were when you originally wrote them.

Revisiting old stories is a good time.

Why not look in your files and folders to see what old stories are waiting for you to give them new life?

Sort:  

Whenever I see a good writers, I try following them, I’m not good in writing but I enjoy reading good stuff; yes I do!

One if my favorite writers on steemit is @giantbear.

Now that I’ve stumbled on you @jeezzle, please permit me to follow you and read your beautiful stories.

Posted using Partiko iOS

@giantbear is definitely a good writer. She is also one of the members of our @steemfiction group.

Thank you for following me. I appreciate that.

Thanks for mentioning @steemfiction group to me, I’ll love to also look into their blog.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It happens to me too. I have two stories here on steemit that I never completed.

I think I have a few stories I started back in the early 2000s I'd like to finish someday. One had quite a few chapters. Maybe I'll get back to it someday. I've always been terrible at wrapping up big stories.

Longer stories are definitely harder.

I have many partial stories. I find them in drawers and file folders. Sometimes I’m not absolutely sure I am the one who wrote them because I have zero memory of putting those words together.

Indeed it is truly a good time, revisiting old stories and breathing new life into them

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This really made me to remember many stories i have wriiten when i was a kid or should i say children. Some i finish, some after some few chapters like you said, i abandon them. Maybe then it was because the inspiration is gone so i cannnot continue again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91