Searching for a new roommate is no fun.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago

If you've read my blog recently then you know that I live in a house with two other guys.

For the most part it's an amenable situation. It's a somewhat nice house that is in a decent part of town.

roommate.jpg
Pixabay

One of those guys moved out the other day which means that I have to find a roommate for the available room.

After all, the three of us were sharing the rent cost for the house and also all of the bills.

It is simply not possible for the two of us to pay that so it's important we fill that room right away.

Essentially that means asking around at work. It means putting ads on Craigslist. It means interviewing all kinds of possible roommates to try to find the right one. This is a difficult process.

I've interviewed lots of different people.

I've interviewed people for this room many times. I've also interviewed people in another job I had in which my position was a systems analyst and I had to find other people working for computer departments.

The truth is the people will tell you what you want to hear. It's hard to trust people because they're going to tell you the thing that is going to get them hired for the job or the thing that is going to get them to room.

Reading people is a very important skill. I think I've learned it well, but I do also know that the interview process will be starting soon. I guess we will see how everything goes.

I'll keep you guys updated.

Sort:  

I did the exact same thing for 10 years. Found some that turned out to be lifelong friends, and others that turned out to be proper pieces of shit!

Generally, I just made appointments to show them the place, and decide whether or not it was a culture fit with a little hangout.

No matter who you have, there is going to be the worst roommate. If everyone is trying not to be that, then you are good!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'll never find a roommate that I like as much as I liked the last guy. I'm thinking he'll probably end up being a lifelong friend though. I might even move out when his lease is up on his next place with him. What a great dude. However, all I really need is somebody that doesn't party loud at night and I'll be okay I think.

yes, it's hard my friend because sometimes our observations are wrong. We thought that what we think of that person is correct but in the end we are wrong. Maybe just let your instincts or feelings be the judge of this matter. Words sometimes are all lies. Hope you can find a nice person there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, hope you are having a nice day!

We stopped by to invite you to participate in the "Caption this photo" and "Finish this story" contests and win prizes worth 12 Steem!

Also check out 1Ramp on Android and Web.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95