Something interesting I noticed on Coinbase.

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

I was reading a post earlier by @meno and it really got me to thinking about Coinbase.

In my opinion, it really is the easiest way to buy Bitcoin for a reasonable price. If you don't like the wallet you can always transfer it onto a different exchange or to a desktop or hardware wallet.

Now we all know that Coinbase has occasionally given us the impression that they're going to support more coins than the standard 5.

The standard 5.

coinbase.png

It seems you can also buy a bundle of all 5 coins.

I probably would not buy that bundle.

Bitcoin rises past $6, 600. Breakout?

We shall see.

The interesting thing is what's underneath that image.

coinbase2.png

A list of 45 coins that are not supported.

They are not supported for trading or buying on Coinbase, but they are listed right under the standard 5.

Additionally, they are NOT in the exact order that they are in on Coinmarketcap.com.

That might simply be due to the fluctuating market, and it might be due to some other factors that I am unaware of. It might be due to the fact that these 45 coins are being considered by Coinbase as additions to the standard 5.

STEEM is the 35th coin on that list.

I have heard rumors for a long time that there are something like 37 coins that are being considered by Coinbase as additions. I remember when Litecoin was added at $23. The price certainly took off for a while.

I hadn't visited Coinbase in a while, so maybe this is old news to you but I found it really interesting.

It's very possible we will be seeing STEEM there in the near future.

Sort:  

Hi, I use coinbase but I always feel that unhappyness when I see how much they eat from my investment.

Is there any other safe and cheaper way to buy btc or eth to transfer this to steem?

Now that is a good question.

now went 34th!

Where the f@@ does it show the coinbase bundle and what it doesn't show this on me! i sense a discrimination towards me :P

In order to see it you have to sign a disclaimer that says that you are not filotasriza3.

People talk a lot about the price of Steem and what factors affect it - millions of things including big investors, the social network content and concept, the price of bitcoin (which pushes and pulls the prices of all other coins), etc. etc.

I think that getting Steem petitioned or voted onto new exchanges (I see @socky making this his daily struggle) is one of the main things that could contribute to a higher value of Steem. CoinBase would be a huge deal

Coinbase would be beyond huge. Coinbase would be a much bigger Factor than getting on another exchange because Coinbase is most people's first step into the world of crypto.

That would be really nice! I wonder if they will do a vote or something.

Getting on Coinbase would be similar in my opinion to jump starting a lawn mower and turning into a hot rod.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95