TAG: Surrealist horror of the best kind.

in #busy6 years ago

Everybody knows that Japan has some of the most interesting horror movies out there.

Most people have heard of movies like....

The Ring

and

The Grudge

but I don't think of those kind of movies when I think of Japanese horror.

I think of Ichi the killer, Tetsuo Iron Man, and yes even Battle Royale.

Those movies are hard-hitting, bloody, and incredibly surreal.

I love a movie that really keeps you glued to the screen while at the same time making you think.

This is such a movie.


Source: Imdb.com

A girl's life cascades into chaos as everyone around her suffers a gruesome fate while she herself becomes less and less certain of who she is and what kind of a world she lives in.

That tagline does describe the movie, while at the same time saying nothing about it.

Beautiful young Mitsuki is riding on a bus with a bunch of her female classmates. They're going on some kind of camping trip and all the girls are really enjoying themselves.

Suddenly a strong gust of wind blows.... cutting the bus in half, and cutting all of the girls in half as well.... except for Mitsuko who has happened to bend down for a moment to pick up a pen.

After this incredibly gory, but very interesting, incident she finds herself shifting from alternate reality to alternate reality.... each one more violent than the last.

You might be thinking that this is a complete gorefest. Well that might be true to an extent, but I will tell you it's actually a really deep movie that has quite a bit of hidden meaning,

Not only that, but there is a beautifully haunting score that follows along with the movie.

This is the perfect Japanese horror movie.

Surreal, haunting, beautiful, bloody, fast-paced, great music, really makes you think.

Some people might call it incoherent, or say that the plot doesn't make any sense at all....

Before you say that, I have to ask you one thing.

If life is like a string hanging from your sweater, do you just let it hang there forever knowing that if you pull it something bad will happen?

Or do you pull it and hope for the best?

Do you live your life safely not risking anything?

Or do you let yourself become fully unraveled?

I love this movie.

If you like Japanese horror movies.... I think you will too.

TAG: Surrealist horror of the best kind.

Sort:  

Oh man I remember watching Dark Water when I was just 16 it totally FREAKED me out!

I am gonna check this out!

In the mean time, you into horror manga? Junji Ito... man!

i stopped reading after you mentioned "The Ring" - scrolled down, and left this comment :)

i gave you an upvote because I'm sure this is an awesome post hehehehehe

but it's 12:02 am and I'm not in the mood for nightmares for the next 19 months! :)

i would definitely wont watch japanese horror movies alone lol

I can see that.

Sounds really good! I used to love watching Horrors... now I avoid them otherwise I cannot sleep for days haha!! But in terms of preference, I have always leaned towards the spiritual / demonic type horrors... I guess that would explain the lack of sleep haha :)

Well those kind of movies are always fun to watch.

what a movie with best acting actors and story...... soon it will rock on history. 😆 @jeezzle best of luck

Hello @jeezzle, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97