Garden Update - August 8, 2018

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

image1.jpeg

Garden Update

August 8, 2018

Good Afternoon folks. It has been over a month since I made my last garden update. Things in the backyard have progressed greatly over the last few weeks. It has been hot outside and fairly dry over the course of the month. With proper watering, the plants are thriving. Lately I am cranking out cucumbers just about every other day. The photo above shows three that I harvested earlier in the week.

Pumpkin

Below you can get a look at the pumpkin plant that is slowly taking over my entire yard. I never expected this to grow so big, and quite franky I'm not so sure what to do. It has loads of flowers, but no pumpkins yet.

20180806-IMG_2538.jpg

Chinook Hops

Three of the four Chinook Hops have made their way to the top of the trellis. They have not produced any hop nuggets/cones, but I can expect to see some soon. When I planted the pumpkin in the center of the trellis bed, I did not think it would grow so big and encroach on the hops. So far, it seems like the hops are managing well and living healthy, but next time I will be more careful with what I plant nearby.

20180806-IMG_2543.jpg

Blueberries

After I planted my blueberry bushes in the spring, I installed bird-netting to keep the flying thieves away. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to be doing the job. Birds continue to find their way through, even bursting holes through the nets. They don't just take the berries, they clip full branches! As you can see in the photo below, only one large branch remains, the rest have been trimmed by the birds.

20180806-IMG_2539.jpg

The plants have been producing a solid amount of berries, but I haven't been getting to them before the birds do. Earlier this week, I made my first harvest (a total of eleven blueberries). Although it's barely a mouthful, it's still nice to have a product from the garden.

20180806-IMG_2544.jpg

Cucumbers

I have two potted cucumber plants as you can see in the photo below. Both have grown fairly large and intertwined. As I said earlier, they have been producing loads of fruit the past couple of weeks. I have been harvesting a cucumber just about every other day. Most of the time, I add the cucumbers to salads, but I also try to make pickles every once in a while too. Perhaps I will post a recipe soon!

20180806-IMG_2546.jpg

Below you can see a nice juicy cucumber ready to be picked. These are called Marketmore Cucumbers and are very easy to grow. Marketmores are known to be some of the greatest producing cucumbers in the world. They are relatively hardy and deliciously refreshing.

20180806-IMG_2545.jpg

Thanks for taking a tour of the garden with me!

More From the Garden:

Garden Update - July 1, 2018

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text
Sign Up to Menē for $5 towards 24K Gold Jewelry
Join Airbnb and Save $40 on your first trip
Get Paid to Read Your E-Mails with Earn.com
Earn STEEM Dollars & more by completing online tasks
Convert your online activity into Gift Cards, Crypto or Paypal with GaB
Join the SWIFT Universal Basic Income Experiment
Use Bitcoin for Amazon Purchases and Save $$$

Sort:  

Very nice! I only planted cherry tomatoes this year, but I have been pulling in a handful of them each day from the three plants that I have in my garden. Next year I am hoping to expand some more and maybe grow some peppers and Roma tomatoes.

That would be a great expansion! Roma’s are my favorite

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jeffjagoe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94