You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: US Debt Undermines Dollar Confidence (whether people realize it yet or not)

in #busy6 years ago

Wow! That graph really is a scary visualization of what we have going on. I am and have been aware of how bad of a situation we're in. Truthfully i dont believe there is a way out of our debts. The sooner the ceiling breaks the better. That way we can try to start again. Hopefully we'll learn from our past mistakes next go around.

Sort:  

Yes its a eye catcher for sure. I see lots of this stuff, but this one really caught my eye. And yes I agree that there is no way out either. I think the only solution is a reset at some point. Its like we've delayed going to the doctor for 30 to 50 years, and now we're so sick there isn't anything that can be done but start over.

And yes on learning from our mistakes, but my guess is that most won't. Just like today we have plenty of times in history to look at, but every time they always seem to convince people "this time is different".

You say reset.... do you mean revolution?
😀

Not necessarily.... Its certainly possible, but I think most people are too fat and lazy for that. More likely in my opinion will be more like just poverty and misery for the unprepared. Hopefully not total chaos, which could happen in the big cities if the police can't be paid though.

I think giving the animalistic nature of people when put in large numbers, and the fact that we freak out when something as simple as her cell phone breaks, that huge interruptions indpay food supply protection and other things will result in at least some level of Chaos. I really hope it doesn't come to this, but anymore it's very believable I think.

yes... that's why I'm happy to not live in a big city anymore. I think there will be mini war zones and "no go" areas in the big cities if that does come into play. You are certainly right about chaos and a lot will depend on the way it goes down. People in a lot of the US have lost their "family" cohesion of the past, so if all hell breaks lose there won't be the tight-knit family units to keep a natural order. And I don't believe the government would be a very good alternative here in this situation either, so the best hope is to be prepared and able to "already have"/"be able to purchase" what you will need. And don't have a lot of faith in the dollar as your only method of savings.

Hey, @johndoer123

I think you and Dave pretty much arrived at the point here. There really isn't any learning from our mistakes this time. This is pretty much it. We had our chance, and as a nation/civilization, intentionally or not, we've blown it. We've taken the one true shot at freedom the world has known and we've blown it. We taken the best government ever implemented by man and corrupted it, we've taken the best economy ever to be instilled by a people and treated it as a thing of naught, and we've pretty much alienated ourselves from most of the world in the process.

I'd like to think there's a way out of this, but I don't see it. I see WWIII. I'm not sure how we come out of that unscathed. This has been brewing for well over a hundred years, and it will come to a head. The US has already survived longer as it was originally constituted than any other nation on Earth, and since we've been doing our level best to tempt fate, instead of everything in our power to cherish, preserve and protect her, it's only a matter of time before we go the way of every other people.

It's really a tribute to the divine nature of this nation's founding and the resiliency of a free market economy that we've managed to make it this far.

Amen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89