You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BEOS Is Almost Here: This Is A Very Exciting Project

in #busy5 years ago

I was 100% on board until I read the part about jurisdictional control which made me cringe. For me, it represents the antithesis of what blockchain based assets are supposed to do- ensure availability to anyone anywhere in the world, promoting global connectivity. The concept started to reek of political agendas which I want no part of.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

The US was designed to have many relatively independent states, so if you don't like the laws of one, you can move to another. This has the effect of people moving out of failing high tax states and into prosperous low tax states. The Federal government has distorted this, but the point still stands. BEOS allows people to do this instantly, legally, cheaply, and globally, without leaving their home. It's a different use-case that enhances the value of other blockchains like Bitshares and Eos. It creates a safer environment for businesses that want to assist in the transition to blockchain systems.

Still feels like state-based agenda. Who gets to decide that US based laws are appropriate for everyone else in the world?

Posted using Partiko Android

What do you mean? The individual decides what jurisdiction to transact in..

Actually wouldnt it be the opposite.

I get to choose what jurisdiction my transactions are processed in. At present, I am no say in it it. If I do not want anything processed in country X, yet if there is a miner there, what choice do I have?

Hmmm...I see your point. For me it represents an opportunity to create separation based on someone's personal agenda. I'd rather let my choice be based on supply/demand and algorithmic impartiality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87