Self SabotagesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago

I wanted to bring this topic up for discussion today because I came face to face with it while at work today. 1st, a little background. I got an email from the IT manager asking if I had installed anything on the laptop that would explain "unusual traffic" coming from it. I said I wasn't aware of anything that I downloaded but requested more information about the kind of traffic. He explained that "SteemitImages" was creating a constant, non-human like data traffic pattern, and described the laptop as being "Chatty". I explained that I check out Steemit.com but don't upload images from my laptop. Truth is that its open on my browser all day and minimized in my tray. The weird thing is that no steemit images will load on my browser if I'm on the company network; I didn't think any of it other than to say to myself "Well that's fuckin' weird". I said that I'd refrain from using Steemit but now I feel like I'm a target, and am feeling paranoid about everything. I hastily deleted my browsing history from all time (like that isn't suspicious) and feel like I'm generally on some "watch-list". I truly hope this doesn't turn into a FML situation whereby the H.R. person is joined by my boss with a folder in hand asking me if "I have a minute".....

Everything seemed to be going so well.

The following self-defeating questions come to mind:

  1. What was I doing spending time on non- work related web sites?
  2. What is my problem that I need to do this?
  3. Am I fucking stupid?
  4. Aren't I old enough to know better?
  5. Why didn't I learn from the last time?
  6. Why would I put this new job (that I moved across the country for) in jeopardy?

Maybe I'm being dramatic about the whole situation- I tend to do that. Maybe it's no big deal.
image.png

Sort:  

Hi @jrb450!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.482 which ranks you at #16177 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 104 places in the last three days (old rank 16073).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 249 contributions, your post is ranked at #83.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00