20facts about LostWestSociety

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

P1010020.JPG

Hi Guys,

This is a translated Version of my German 20 Facts about me
I just wanted to have a English version for anyone of you, who cant speak German. Its only fair, that I translate it for you and not the other way around.

20 facts about LostinWesternSociety

I came across the "20 facts about Steemians" while browsing @theaustrianguy`s feed and found the idea pretty good.

But what could one possibly know about me?
I think a little browsing through the 20 facts of the other German-speaking Steemians can do no harm. I'll be right back...

A little research isn't bad. I came back with an idea or two in my mind. All right, let's go.

  1. I am very quick on fire for something and dig deep into new projects. Unfortunately it happens again and again that I quickly lose the flame, the inner glow again and tackle the next exciting thing. The only things that have accompanied me for a long time are writing and weight training. And I hope that Steemit will become an equally big part of my life and that the passion for this truly extraordinary project will not only burn within me for a long time.

  2. I only bought my first smartphone about half a year ago. Before that I got along with an old Nokia from the Stone Age and was regularly laughed at or looked at bewilderedly by friends and family. I always thought that you don't necessarily need these technical gadgets, but honestly I don't want to miss them anymore.

  3. I have never taken a sip of alcohol, a cigarette or any other drugs. This abstinence was also a source of additional income, besides my apprenticeship at that time. I was always the designated driver at the weekend and got a fiver from all the fellow passengers (I have to say that in the first years it were 5 Deutsche Mark pieces. It wasn't until my early twenties that the 5-Euro bills came into my driver's pocket. Work it out for yourself how old I am ;o) )

  4. I was a hyperactive child and could neither sit still in class nor be attentive for a long period of time. As a result, my school attendance decreased significantly over the years and my school career ended abruptly.
    I did my Abitur exam, however (before that came the secondary school certificate) by way of correspondence school alongside my work.

  5. As a child I often stood in the south stand (the famous Südtribüne) in the Westfalenstadion, because my great uncle was a long-standing club referee (for the youth and amateur sector, as well as for the professionals before the Bundesliga era) and even when he died, my great-aunt was sent the two referee tickets for each home match instead of him. You might be able to guess. I was a big BVB fan despite my birth defect being Hanoverian.

  6. In my childhood I had several small pets (hamsters, guinea pigs, dwarf rabbits), although I always wanted a dog. When I moved out into the world and moved in with my girlfriend, I was suddenly responsible for two Westihighland-Terriers and one Eurasier (mixed-breed), which I could and had to take care of. Especially this beautiful, white Eurasier was a model of energy and pulled not only tirelessly on his leash, but also on our nerves ;o).
    I have enjoyed the six years I have spent with them very much and sometimes look back wistfully. For the future I wish to own dogs again, if the external circumstances are suitable, because dogs should not be used as accessories, but should be integrated into an already stable environment, which I cannot offer to another living being at the moment.

  7. Nogger or Nogger Choc? Nogger Choc (I remember the commercial. Here the wheat separated from the chaff. You weren't supposed to answer wrong. And Nogger Choc with its hard and ultra-sweet chocolate core was ALWAYS the right answer ;o)

  8. I write under different pseudonyms in several genres on independent platforms. So far only in the fiction field.

  9. Most of my beautiful childhood memories are related to my grandmother, who is now almost 100 (in February 97) and has survived all the doctors who predicted more than 60 years ago across the board that she would only have a few months left to live (lung cancer). One of these memories between my fourth and seventh/eighth year were the visits to my grandmother and how she pressed her little video booklet into my hands directly at the front door.
    There she had meticulously listed which episodes of the TV series Biene Maja, Augsburger Puppenkiste and ALF she had recorded for me in the meantime. At that time there were still VHS tapes and my granny already had a video recorder.
    For the very young among you, it must seem strange that you cannot consume all the media you want to consume directly at the touch of a button. But so it was and I even dare to say that much has been lost through instant consumption and the loss of family television-time.

  10. Headwinds are pretty much the worst thing for a passionate but heavy cyclist, especially if he rides regularly on open roads, e.g. on a canal that already has a sandy, earthy subsoil. How hostile the headwind and I are, you can read here;).
    Right now the headwind is leading the epic battle, man against nature. But I intend to strike back recklessly.

  11. My first game console was the original Gameboy (yes yes, I am old^^), which I got in the third class. The first multiplayer game was F1-Race and guess who hung on his Gameboy with three other little rugrats during the breaks and became Formula 1 world champion even before Michael Schumacher?

  12. After that I played pretty much all the game consoles that the market produced at that time. NES, Super Nintendo, Sega Master System, Mega Drive, Mega CD, Game Cube, Nintendo 64 (the most ingenious games were the Shining in the Darkness, Shining Force I and II, Phantasy Star series, Story of Thor, Suikoden, Breath of Fire and many other mad games, some of which I still have in the original Japanese version and where we could only guess the plot line. Also these games we often played with three or four people)

  13. Addendum to points 11 and 12 To avoid being labeled a couch potato, we also played football. Our youth clique was huge, when we were complete we counted 30 people.But the core group consisted of 12-15 players.
    When we turned 16, six of us registered for the B-Youth (youth division for 16 to 17 year olds) of a Hanover football club and played a season together. (After that the whole youth department of the club collapsed, so we stopped again and from then on we only played on our sports ground, like before). In this one season as an active club player, I have scored 14 goals in 7 games, although I have never been the fastest or most technically adept. I probably had the same nose as "kleines dickes Müller", Gerd Müller if anybody remembers him.

  14. I tried a lot in my childhood and early youth and I always enjoyed everything, but as mentioned above, the next great thing I wanted to try came up.
    Judo, karate, basketball, table tennis, football (as mentioned), tennis and boxing I have tried out in my club. Some only for a few weeks, others like tennis for several years (two club championship cups still adorn my otherwise empty trophy cabinet)

  15. I've been training Krav Maga for six months. Unfortunately not as regularly as I want and should. But the practice times are all at a late hour in the evenings and often I can't pull myself together anymore, especially because I started in the dark season. I hope that will change now, when it is longer bright outside. You see, I have a certain basic cosiness in me :o).

  16. I'm a avid reader. I used to gobble up three to four books a week, which has become less over the years. If I read a book a week now, I am happy and mostly it is research for my own writing.
    My reading focus lies on newspaper nowadays. I read thousands of newspaper articles a day (read, not skim) and copy the most important information including my own interpretations and suitable tags into a notebook and sorting software in order not to lose the overview.

  17. To raise a controversial, political point. To point 16 I came basically because I could no longer understand the developments of the past 6-7 years and I wanted to understand how a chancellor who performs volte-face like nobody else, controls the entire political apparatus (to which I also count the capital press and the MSM, as well as the opposition and the various coalitions led by Merkel, but also the intellectuals, satirists, musicians, theatre people, columnists) in such a way that a country loses its natural defences. I have been a positive person all my life and have seen both my own and the future of my homeland positively. I've lost that trait over time. I see dark times coming (and by that I mean Western and Northern Europe, not only Germany). I don't know how this whole thing ends, but we've been sawing the branch we're sitting on for years. We are still doing well" and "We are a relatively rich country" and other slogans. We are gradually destroying these riches and cultural possessions generated by other generations. I see us as a collective in a saucepan and we are the frog who does not notice that it is cooked because the temperature is only ever raised by one degree. (There are certainly many different opinions on this point and we can discuss them in other blog posts if necessary. I just didn't want to embezzle this important point in my life more or less because of an up vote. The state of our country is burning on my soul and I have several friends and acquaintances who were totally angry with me years ago when I warned of certain developments. I hope you believe me when I tell you that by now almost everyone has had experiences that have led to opinions very far removed from their original opinion.

  18. I love tv shows and most of all those that are ambiguous, where you don't just sit passively, but have to use your brain to figure out the plot-twist.
    My All-Time Favourite is and remains "Lost" at the same time the first series, which had a huge fan community on the Internet, which went together on the hunt for the many mysteries and riddles.
    Further favorites: Game of Thrones, Justified (You see an asshole in the morning, you saw an asshole. You see assholes all day, you`re the asshole), The Shield, The Sopranos, The Wire, Breaking Bad, Oz, Eastbound and Down, Mad Men, Last Man on Earth, Homeland, House of Cards, Girls (also as an absolute opponent of the feminist agenda and the portrait of the modern white, heterosexual man I could not escape this small but fine series. The main actress is the Antichrist for me with her public persona, but as co-producer, inventor and main actress of the series she did a great job and I am not ashamed to admit it), Downton Abbey, The Wonder Years (Wonder Years, with Kevin Arnold as the protagonist and Winnie as his first love. At that time I also had a great heartache and was also about ten, eleven. I associate this series with my early youth), Six Feet Under (The end of this series is the best there is alongside with the end of The Shield.
    If you have five minutes of free time, go to YouTube and type in "Six Feet Under finale". You won't stop crying all evening, even if you haven't seen an episode), ER, Friends, The Office (the UK and the US version), Stromberg of course ;o), The Americans, Buffy, Angel, Orange is the New Black, 30 Rock, Parks and Recreation... I better stop now. There are a lot more I have seen, mostly in the bing-watching procedure, other, older series were only on TV at that time and you had to wait forever until also the German broadcasters brought the next season of a favorite series on the market (two examples were ALF and Angel. Angel then broadcast sometime in the night program)

  19. I have two traits that don't go well together. On the one hand, I am a loyal friend, loyal to the point of giving up myself, and I like to be taken advantage of until it becomes too painful for me. If I think I've been taken advantage of long enough, I can end long-standing friendships very quickly without giving a second chance.
    I know this combination is very unhealthy, but what do you want to do?

  20. @theaustrianguy has written in his 20 facts about a tree house for his son and about a beautiful house in nature. I would like to summarise both points in my last one. I have this dream too, somewhere in nature with my family (I love children and would love to have a whole bunch of them), isolated from all the misery of the world and to burn the sun on my belly at my own lake (well, a pond would be enough) while I work on my stories.


I hope it didn't get too lengthy at the end. Once I start rolling, I just keep writing and I can't find an end. Almost felt like a therapy session though ;o).
Those who have found a long-term home here on Steemit will get to know each other better over the months anyway, so these 20 facts are a nice start. I have already read some of your contributions and it was fun to learn a lot about you in this way. That's what I wanted to give back to you with this piece. Reciprocity, or what is the technical term for mutual social exchange?

Sort:  

Interessant. Krass, keine Drogen - ich zähle auch legale Drogen als Droge.
Ich mag Punkt 19. Wenns nicht passt, passts nicht und deine Ehrlichkeit wird mit dem richtigen Menschen belohnt

Hi jumowa,

also wenn du Kaffee zu Drogen zählst, bin ich schuldig ;o). Ohne meine drei Becher Kaffe am Morgen komme ich nur schwer in Schwung.

Und zu Punkt 19: Ich wünschte, ich könnte schon früher den Mund aufmachen und ich arbeite auch daran, eine gewisse Schieflage in Freundschaften oder Beziehungen nicht zu zu lang werden zu lassen, aber es fällt mir noch immer schwer die richtigen Worte zu finden und darauf zu warten, dass von der anderen Seite die Erkenntnis von alleine kommt.

Aber wir alle sind ja auf der Erde, um permanent zu wachsen. Noch ist nicht Hopfen und Malz verloren, um beim Thema legale Drogen zu bleiben ;o).

P.S. ich habe grad gesehen, dass du meinen Beitrag resteemed hast. Vielen Dank dafür, :o).

Achso, ja, das würde ich verkürzen, ausser du bist ein Maso und geilst dich drauf auf ;). Ich bezog mich auf das konsequente Ausselektieren - das mache ich auch so. Ist wirklich gesund und spült die Seele schön durch. Ausserdem ist es sehr befreiend ehrlich zu sich selbst zu sein auch wenn der Schritt zur Wahrheit komischerweise schwer ist. Hinterher ists das Einfachste und die Routine schleicht sich ein. Du wirst plötzlich ein stärkerer selbstbewussterer Mensch ohne es wirklich gemerkt zu haben und automatisch fallen viele andere Dinge auch gleich leichter

Letterspacing creates speedbumps for the reader.
Great Post!

This is a great post! 😊

Thank you ;o).

maybe a tad too long ^^.

Item no.2 I am really shocked you just bought your first smartphone 1 year ago, I cannot imagine living with the stone age nokia hahaha.

For item no. 3, we are the same, I do not smoke and drink alhocol as well. Never.

Anyway.. awesome post @lostwestsociety

Congratulations @lostwestsociety! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lostwestsociety! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58