Sort:  

What a cool shot and how cool is that sight that they can map the shot you got to show where it is now I never knew one could do that

Thanks Jay, I hope to capture enough data soon to create one of those fab Milky Way photos. I think I need about 20 to 30 RAW images to get a very detailed final image. (watch this space! lol)

The A.A.S. worldwide telescope is a super cool website and well worth a look.





Hey @molometer,
This post has been upvoted by the ASTROSteem curation team and curation trail.
ASTROSteem is a project with the goal to promote and support astronomical content on the STEEM blockchain. If you wish to support the authors of astronomical content and the ASTROSteem project you can get more informations here.

Thank you @astrosteem team. I will pop in and see who I can support.

You're welcome Michael :-)

Awesome shot Michael :-)
I've not tried the American Astronomical Society Worldwide telescope yet by myself, but I think I will give it a try with my next project, which I hope to be able to start in August. Until then I need to do a lot of handcraft for the new controlling computer.
Automatic stacking is a little tricky with wide fields. Sometimes it works but most of the time there are some errors.

Very nice to see what improvements you're making.

Thank you Kevin :-)
The auto stacking software is for sure very tricky. I now have a much better plan on what to shoot and when so these tests have been very helpful to figure thngs out.

The American Astronomical Society Worldwide telescope is a very useful resource with lots of very useful information but I did notice that both the A.A.S. and Astrometry have invalid security certificates which was kind of odd. Maybe someone forgot to update the certificates.

It's not a problem as we don't put any personal data on either website but thought I should mention it just in case you use it.

This month we have some great photo opportunities with Jupiter in opposition. I might try to get the Moons of Jupiter.

Can't wait to see the results of your new configuration in August.

You're welcome Michael :-)
That's great to hear. Planing shots is a very difficult job. But it helps a lot to figure out what setting lead to which result.

...but I did notice that both the A.A.S. and Astrometry have invalid security certificates which was kind of odd. Maybe someone forgot to update the certificates.

I think astrometry.net hasn't an SSL certificate. A.A.S. seems to work properly. Which browser do you use?
As you say, it should be safe as we do not transmit any personal data, just the image itself.
I must confess, I also forgot to select the new certificate on the web hoster interface of our website at work :-D

This month we have some great photo opportunities with Jupiter in opposition. I might try to get the Moons of Jupiter.

I hope to be able to do a little bit of wide field with my DSLR

Can't wait to see the results of your new configuration in August.

Thank you very much Michael. I hope that I have some luck an will be abe to collect some data.

I never have any luck taking photos of the night sky, I am glad you ended up with such a great one!!

Hey Debra, good to hear from you again and thank you for your warm comment.

The more I practice the better the images are getting...I hope.

I still have a long way to go to get the images I can see in my mind.

Amazing capture!

Thank you Red :-)

We spent our day at the planetarium today. No mention of the swan constellation. I will have to ask the presenter to point it out next time. That said it might not be in our sky at the moment. I'd love to learn how to read and map stars but there goes another must learn list. Steemit opens up so many opportunities for that:)

Maybe they don't know that Cygnus is from the Greek for swan as you know? It is in the sky right now if you look east south east. On a clear night you can see Deneb with the naked eye.

At midnight it is slap bang in the middle observable portion of the Milky Way. You should be able to see it if you have somewhere nearby that is sufficiently dark or do a long exposure if in town. Point your camera ESE and see if you can get it. :-)

I live in downtown Vancouver and the light pollution is high, especially in the East. The ocean is south west and so there is a break there and mountains in the North but then there are mountains. Haha.

Actually it is kind of blessing because whatever there is to pick out is really easy to find. I am told that soon we will have smacking view of Jupiter. I wish I could take shots of what we see through our local observatory for you.

Yep that's going to be difficult with all that light pollution. Shame.

The mountains would make a lovely foreground for the Milky Way.

soon we will have smacking view of Jupiter. I wish I could take shots of what we see through our local observatory for you

That would be interesting. I'm going to try get some photos of Jupiter and it's moons too.

That would be a great shot indeed! Well done sir molometer, that's an interesting hobby.

I find the whole thing fascinating and great fun. Glad you liked it. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01