Sort:  

Portugal has a Land's End at Sagres. What a beautiful place this one is! I'm glad they built a lighthouse to try to keep ships off those rocks! Twitchers! I had forgotten that you all use that term. I suppose I must be one?

The Twitchers were out in numbers when we were there. Those little Auk's are pretty rare in this region...climate change?

I would love to see the Auks!

I would love to see one!

Zoom in on the rock photo above. It'd not sharply focused as they were about half of a mile away.

I guess wanting to see one would be foolish! The look like penguins from a distance.

I was actually photographing the rock formation and didn't even notice the birds at all until later when reviewing the photos.

If I had seen them I may have been able to get more focus on them. I thought that they could be Penquins too but according to the locals these Auks have just moved into this rock area. They are pretty rare and not usually found in this location or region.

I do have RAW duplicate photos so I may be able to improve on the focus a bit more. I'll let you see the results if it works out.

I love the way you captured them unbeknownst to you! I think you did great. Another thing that you may have been aware of if you would had an internet connection and could have done more research on the area.

had an internet connection and could have done more research on the area.

This would have helped for sure. It was a big news story amongst the twitchers.

It's a pretty unusual and rare bird and was quite the event for them to show up here.

I had never heard of Auks before. I think your photo and the story behind it is pretty incredible. I was telling my daughter about it yesterday.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=molometer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=longships-lighthouse-lands-end-cornwall-england


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What an amazing place to visit such rugged and yet beautiful scenery,
WOW at the number of shipwrecks there is scary stuff

thanks for joining Wednesday Walk

Thanks Jay it is a stunning place to visit. It has a very wild and rugged landscape

And you showcased that for us beautifully

Thank you for your encouragement. It is much appreciated.

Michael

Most welcome :)

interesting, a lot of sunken ships I wonder how many more there are

There must be thousands full of treasure just waiting to be found. Tricky to scuba dive though but some people do.

That is a stunning landscape! Although if I were arriving by sea, I think I would just go around to somewhere safer! You guys have all the cool stuff over there. Congratulations on beating your GPS! That's a feat in and of itself!

It sure is a dramatic coastline and beating the GPS was brilliant. 🙌

Niiiiiceeeee!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks Iluh, glad you enjoyed.

Always liked listening to the shipping forecast and hearing the name Finisterre, Latin for Land's End. It's in Spain, there's a place with a very similar name on the west coast of France too. These names all come from the pre Columbus era when these literally were the end earth.

Can't beat the shipping forecast for conjuring up images of wild seas.

Finisterre (end earth) is spot on as a description.

Some people still think it's the end of the earth. I wonder how they explain the travels of Columbus? 😋

From Start Point to Land's End.....from Land's End to Hartland Point...perhaps if they'd paid more attention to the shipping forecast there would have been less of those shipwrecks!

Er...! they hadn't invented radio at that time?
😂😂

The place looks so nice .. as far as I remember you can even see the coast of france from there on sunny and cloudless days ^^

I doubt we could see France from Lands end. The distance to the horizon is just over 12 miles if standing 100 feet above sea level.

You maybe could see the Scilly isles?

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest. If you enjoy steemit worldmap and the manual curation effort we're going through each day, please consider supporting what we do!

Thanks @steemitworldmap your app is much appreciated.

If the place is a secret to google, sign me up. What a magical place. I was reminded of the vikings and Odysseus. I think my son would really enjoy a play there. Thanks for sharing you journeys, Michael:)

It was a nice surprise to find somewhere unknown to google maps 🙌 There are still wild places.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95