Sci-fi Novel - The Love Algorithm - Part 24

in #busy5 years ago

image.png

Part 1: Our Sweet Home
Part 2: Love In 12 Minutes
Part 3: Machiavellian Berkan's Concerns
Part 4: Bonanza and His Friends
Part 5: Long-lasted Love
Part 6: Pre-design Battle
Part 7: My Dear Father
Part 8: Video Speech of A Public Enemy
Part 9: A Job Interview
Part 10: The Second Great Attack
Part 11: Big Hopes
Part 12: An Unexpected Disaster
Part 13: Sediment of the Days
Part 14: The Goddess Of Matchmaking, Gülizar
Part 15: Saturday Night Fever
Part 16: Red Alert
Part 17: Writing the Codes of Love
Part 18: Bombastic Folk Singer Ayhan
Part 19: The Drama Of An Ordinary Toy Soldier
Part 20: Phone Call In The Morning
Part 21: The Land of Angry Invoices
Part 22: Last Cliff Before The Bridge
Part 23: The Questionnaire

Part 24: The Cursed Prophet Murphy

The cursed prophet of business, Edward A. Murphy has wise prophecies:

"If something is likely to go wrong, it will go wrong."

"If something is likely to go wrong in several ways, it will always go wrong in such a way that it will have the worst consequences."

"Even if you block the possibilities that something might go wrong, a new possibility will emerge immediately."

While preparing to open the beta version of Gülizar to users, our server running the love algorithm failed. The guy in the service said that the server's motherboard should be replaced, but due to the server's grift architecture, this process will cost more than buying a new server. Of course, we didn't believe those words, because it was too bad for us to be true. The guy in the other service said that it was possible to repair the server, but this process will be more expensive than buying a new server. How comfortable they were saying that our server should be replaced as if we were going to replace the printer cartridge. To try our luck, we went to a third private service, but the answer didn't change. We were outraged when we realized that it was impossible to deny the situation. Why did such a catastrophe not happen to the companies with dozens of servers? A cheaper way would have been to manage with only one server, but our previous server setup already provided the minimum requirements to run our business healthily. Another possibility was to make the calculations required for the love algorithm on a server that we would rent over the cloud. Of course, we initially evaluated such a possibility. This option, which required a relatively lower initial investment, was not accepted as being too complicated and more costly in the long run. Even though I know the answer I'm going to get, I asked Berkan, “Can we move the server to the cloud?”

“Don't bother me asking stupid questions,” he answered.

I insisted on saying, “Don't reject it; think about how you can do it.”

"I'm surprised you ask me like you don't know. Haven't we discussed this before? You're suggesting to change the foundation of the building we've built and finished. And it's doubtful we can even run your algorithm in the cloud,” said Berkan.

“But Gülizar speaks through a server in the cloud,” I continued my insistence.

“We've trained her speech pattern on the cloud, and if I accept your offer, it will take at least three months to move the love algorithm to the cloud," said Berkan.

After the stages of denial, anger, and bargaining, it was time for depression, or melancholy, in the words of the poet. I left Berkan alone with our non-working server and went down to Rumelihisar.

The buckets of people who were busy fishing on the beach were full of fish. Despite the wind that caused me to chill, the waters of the Bosphorus were still. I started to walk fast on the Bosphorus to leave behind the fish-catching crowd and not to surrender to the cold. White clouds in the sky painted the waters of the Bosphorus in a bright blue tone. A cormorant opened and stretched its wings on the little orange bench. As I walked towards Emirgan, my pace became determined, and I began to think about the love algorithm. I have devoted myself to the idea that people resembling each other would like one another. I dragged two young people like myself after me, convinced United Angels that I could do it. We have reached a dead end on this journey to solve the mysteries of love and present these secrets to the service of humanity with an algorithm. Going back or giving up was not an option because there was no place to go. We were going to continue at all costs to see what the site would look like. I believed that Berkan's three-month period for the algorithm to work on the servers in the cloud could be shortened. The main problem would be that the server in the cloud could not be finished until the evaluation of the United Angels to make the original investment. We wouldn't be able to show United Angels a platform with employees and clients, so we wouldn't be able to get the financing we hoped for. It was not an option to deposit all our remaining money to the new server and open the platform to the customers, because the remaining money was not enough to buy a new server. I took out my pocket computer and ordered: “call Deniz.”

“Hello, Samet,” she said. Deniz was not used to calling her on the phone.

I said, “I was walking by Bosphorus; I wanted to hear your voice.”

“I didn't know you did such things,” said Deniz

“I got emotional all of a sudden.”

"Can't they fix the server."

“Repairing costs are more than buying a new one, and there's no money to buy a new one.”

”Try asking Tuğ," said Deniz.

“If Tuğ had money, he wouldn't eat soup and pasta with us every day. He doesn't work; his father doesn't send money anymore.”

“My feelings say he has money,” Deniz insisted.

I sat down at one of the banks that looked at the sea, thinking her voice was lovely. “Did you ever sing?” I asked her.

"Are you drunk?” she asked me.

”I could listen if you sang."

“Go home and see Tuğ, leave the song I'm going to sing,” Deniz said.

“It's good to talk to you, I don't think there's any money in Tug, but hoping for it is better than nothing."

"Are you flirting with me?" Deniz asked.

I said,” I don't know exactly what I'm doing."

”Would you go home and talk to Tuğ, please let me know the result, " she said in an authoritarian voice.

Like a boy who listens to mum's word, “Okay, I'm going,” I said.

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/photos/istanbul-ship-sultanahmet-bosphorus-2912248/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86