How Did I Get All This Steem?

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

4398C69E-AC90-43B6-A0CB-093EE133EC94.jpeg

Source

While I was staring at the market today and looking at the Steem price with both sad but yet excited faces, I wondered how have I been able to achieve this much in the little under two years I have been here. While the easy answer is that I have bought a lot of Steem, there is definitely more than meets the eye and I believe it is the fundamental reason why I remain encouraged with all the development and engagement I see around the ecosystem. I ultimately decided not to buy any because of the realization of how many ways exist to earn it at this point. Here’s my perspective on some of those details (excuse the numbers focus).

Screen Shot 2019-08-07 at 6.49.42 PM.png

As of today, I have 20,250 Steem Power staked in my account! If I add the 442 liquid Steem plus the amount held in savings, I easily go over 21,000. In addition, I have over $100 worth of SBD as well as other tokens on my Steem Engine Wallet. You may see where I’m going with this but the reality is I was somewhat surprised to see these balances as when I look at my chart of dollar cost averaging, I have bought 19,894 Steem to date. While at a high-level that would look as though I have seen only a small amount of earnings here, the reality is that I was missing another important factor in that I have also spent quite a bit of Steem around different projects. For example, I have spent 2,655 Steem and 253 SBD on Splinterlands alone. In addition, I have sent 238 Steem to the great project of @steembasicincome for SBIs in order to foster growth and engagement throughout the community. This means that although I have purchased the great majority of my stake, I have also done quite a bit of earning given my engagement and how I have learned to navigate throughout the community. I think that increase started the last time prices were depressed and therefore think we are in yet another phase in which we can accumulate more Steem than usual.

As I see the variance between these numbers, I feel encouraged that I have taken the right steps to leverage my time here which is probably the intangible that is not taking into consideration in my numbers. I often say that time is just as valuable as money when we’re talking about investing. While it has been clear that the short term value created on my account is not commensurate with the time, the potential of realizing it is present giving the compounding affects of the way the protocol works. Given the steps I have taken to allocate my stake into projects that I not only enjoy but that also bring value to the community, I believe that I will be able to both know the quantity of my stake and value as well as the quality of it which should result in positive returns for my time and money invested over time.

Whether it be earning Steem through all the posts and comments that are upvoted from the community, winning Steem by playing Splinterlands or just making a quick Proof of Activity post for @actifit, we have continued to broaden the way Steem is earned as more projects continue to be developed. I believe the likelihood in this to continue to expand is enormous given the success that a handful of projects have made despite the probably larger amount of those that have not. It only takes a handful of Apps to take this to the next level. What makes the journey even more interesting for me is that these two examples I just noted were not even in the picture and much less in my plans when I started here on the ecosystem almost 2 years ago. It is truly an evolution that will continue until the community succeeds in growing adoption with other communities.

The next phase has probably already been built as we have recently seen with the creation of the deployment of Steem Engine. This has already taken the protocol further in improving distributing rewards by segregating into specialize communities or tribes. This will not only expand the way we earn Steem but also diversify it. This is truly encouraging as it also begins to put this ability into the hands of any user instead of only those that are able to develop or create a stake on the protocol. I do not believe to be an expert on how to optimize this but there will be those who can; which will add to more growth and interest in the ecosystem.

So while many are currently focused on the changes that Hard Fork 21 will bring regarding how to earn, I think the most important part of determining that concept is already here. While the changes will surely not only change how to optimize but also how we engage and interact with the community on the protocol, the foundation has been built on how to create and add value here. I don’t pretend to know how it will end, but I am encouraged by the direction that it is taken despite the price we are seeing.

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

We need a better business model to increase the demand for the token imho... more add revenue and that add revenue going straight to buying STEEM, and all the platforms doing this, the price is seriously damaging people hope in STEEM... adoption and the demand that comes with adoption isn't coming as fast as inflation...

I do wonder, which of the platforms buy STEEM from the market with their add revenue...

20k STEEM... those are some big numbers, STEEM is in my to buy list but I'll probably never reach those numbers since I like to diversify, but who knows! those 20k back during early bear market would hve been worth so much and would have given soo much upvote worth!

I remember getting $1-$3 upvote from people who had 10k! I would love to be able to spread that much value across the ecosystem as many community members deserve! I think more projects will continue to come in and need the Steem Power to fuel their Dapps so now is a great time!

You are a proud Steemian!
I am dollar cost averaging into Steem at this prices.

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely a great moment to do so! If I would have started now, I would have been an Orca by now!

That's what I plan on doing too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Whenever I dollar cost avg Steem i think you of, but you are right, at some point I will have to factor in the additional coins being earned...just gravy on the top.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am still waiting but there will eventually be a moment that I sell some of those tokens to get even more Steem Power! 50k and Orca is still a good chunk away!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @newageinv

So while many are currently focused on the changes that Hard Fork 21 will bring regarding how to earn, I think the most important part of determining that concept is already here.

Diversification generates new business alternatives, this being good for the growth of the markets in the Steemit platform.

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.786 which ranks you at #1481 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 1487).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 99 contributions, your post is ranked at #15.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11