Monthly Crypto Portfolio Update (Feb 2019)

in #busy5 years ago

image005.png

While it was an exciting month for the cryptocurrency markets, it was yet another dull month for my crypto portfolio. This was due to the fact that I continue to wait patiently for the best time to deploy the capital that I have on the margins into my positions. I continue to believe that I like the assets that I’m holding in my portfolio but that doesn’t matter when the bear market proceeds. Instead, my focus has continued to be in building a position here on Steem from both capital investment and a time investment. This has been a much more engaging experience which I have enjoyed.

However, I cannot say that it does not seem that the market is trying to turn for the better. The market this month was up about 10% which followed bitcoin’s lead with an 11% increase. What has been more interesting is the fact that certain assets have started to outperform the market and bitcoin itself. We saw the likes of Litecoin and EOS lead the market higher during this month. This has led many to believe that the bottom has been put into the market. However, some of the main indicators that I continue to look at are not confirming this. For example, bitcoin dominance continues to be above 50% which tells me that most of the market is still following bitcoin. Another metric closely followed is volume as it has turned better as it has been reaching highs not see since the end of the bull market in early 2018. I am encouraged by seeing others lead and the fact that there also continues to be over $2 billion in Stablecoins in the sidelines. This could be a potential catalyst for the market to find a new uptrend higher although I suspect that there will be some stabilization first.

Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 7.33.16 PM.png

Also, since I have been so busy I have not been able to continue my research on the specific assets I intend to add positions to when I deploy more capital. I do have an additional 5 to 10% of capital that I want to put into the cryptocurrency portfolio sometime this year. This is in addition to the position I continue to build here on Steem. I hope that I will find some time in the coming weeks to start allocating some of this capital to these positions. I have also started to wonder what my portfolio will start to look like outside of cryptocurrencies. I have a list of both assets I already own and others I do not to consider for these positions.

Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 7.33.05 PM.png

Despite the markets going up in general and the fact that Litecoin is one of my larger positions in the portfolio, the value depreciated during the month quite substantially. This was due to the fact that TZero now has a secondary market trading. TZero, who is one of the first security tokens to be offered to the public. I was a participant in that offering and after many delays, it finally launched and issued its tokens towards the last part of 2018. At first, my thoughts were that it was good to have put my assets in that offering at the time I did as it preserved that capital until the issuance. During that period Ethereum went down over 90%. However, recent trades of the token which continue to be restricted for regulatory reasons have demonstrated a reduction in price of over 50% from the offering price. So it was unfortunate that I am seeing losses but the market has been down even more during the same period of time. I continue to believe in the project, and seeing this, I’ve actually considered the potential of adding to my position in order to reduce my cost average. However, information as to the deployment of the underlying ecosystem being created by them has been limited. I look forward to researching the project a bit more before making any further decisions.

Screen Shot 2019-03-05 at 7.37.48 PM.png

I decided to take a conservative approach last year and completely get out of the financial markets. In hindsight this was a good idea as volatility peaked at the end of 2018. However, it has since recovered quite substantially which is now a potential to build a position. Therefore, I have been considering getting back into financial markets as I have seen opportunities to build as expectations I feel are not consistent with what seems to be happening in the general. I purposely closed my brokerage accounts in order to not be drawn into coming back in so it will probably take some time to set something up in preparation for new positions. Investing has always been my passion and I would like to go back into it this year. I wonder if there is interest in the community see my thoughts and set-ups for this portfolio in the future.

I continue to make progress on my personal finances to build a path that can lead me to a more heavy position in blockchain and cryptocurrency assets given the belief I have in them. There have been some difficult decisions that I have had to make but believe that they have been necessary to secure my family's best interest in the long term. As I continue to make these adjustments, I enjoy the perspective that sharing with the community has given me in my path forward. While the recent month has brought us a positive one for the first time in a number of months, I am still hesitant to call the bottom as there are still a number of global economic uncertainties that can impact any market that trades risky assets.

I hope the recent month has brought encouragement to the community and the reminder that price is always fluctuate which is why we must learn to manage our risk and not depend on these assets for our financial security. At the end, there will be still projects and assets that will fail and provide its investors with heavy losses. However, there will also be some that are proven to be successful and very good for those that adopted the technology early enough to read its benefits. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the prior months and also any feedback you may think about my portfolio.

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

Join the FreedomEx Exchange Platform to trade token with your Steem-based currencies!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Great summary, you are well prepared for the tectonic shift in Crypto long term.

Trying to get there! Thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wish that I had that portfolio. I know that we are in a bear market but I would be a big fan of most of those cryptos that you own. When the prices go back up they seem like to ones which will do very well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, it has been painful to watch but the reality is that these are just the prior profits I had when the bull market occurred so in reality “I am playing with the houses money!”

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for giving some insight in your investments!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I enjoy comparing with you quite often! It is always interesting as it gives great perspectives! Thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

is your extra capital in fiat or stable coins?

Right now in fiat but looking at Stablecoins as an option in the future.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I will say since the begining of this year. It has been 50% exciting and 50% discouraging for crypto world

It is part of the cycle so itbis a matter of manging risk and executing strategies and the plan.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by newageinv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.482 which ranks you at #2056 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 60 places in the last three days (old rank 2116).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 374 contributions, your post is ranked at #50.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99