You guys didn't tell me buying steem was so stressful.

in #busy6 years ago

laptop-3087585_1920.jpg
source

Today i had to joggle between preparing for an exam and buying steem. It was indeed a daunting task. Unfortunately the exam was postponed to the 17th of October and I have no steem in my account. So frustrated is an understatement, I feel drained and disappointed.

So the gist about the steem, a friend of mine borrowed me about 20,000 naira to buy some steem (that's about 60 steem given the current steem price), this is his way of supporting me, seeing that I am so dedicated (and this is not me blowing my trumpet). however, I am to return the money back in about a month time, so I can't power up unfortunately. My hope is the price of steem goes up a bit so I can retain the surplus and adds it to my steempower.

Also, I want to use this opportunity to ask for some delegations. About a 100 sp delegation would do. This will always me maintain my level of activeness on the blockchain. It's not really cool having to limit now much I can interact with my follow steemians.

So, coming back to the main issue of today. You guys did not tel me how hard it is to purchase steem! If one isn't exchanging steem for another crypto it is almost impossible to purchase steem, especially with fiat money, at least that's my experience. I thought @blocktrade offered such options but I did not find such. I checked https://www.yensesa.com, a site I have used twice to sell my steem but they don't sell steem. I also tried https://www.coindirect.com but that wasn't productive either, and to be honest I am skeptical about using the site because no one recommended it to me, I just found it on google search, and it is more like a third party transaction where I have to send money to a said person and wait for confirmation from them before I receive my steem.

So I am open to suggestions because I do not want to spend this money, i am tempted to. Do you know any secure way of buying steem with fiat money? Please take into consideration that I live in Africa.

png.png

Vote @kevinwong for witness

Go here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Look for @kevinwong and vote.

Alternatively, you can vote through Steemconnect here:

https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=kevinwong&approve=1

Sort:  

Unfortunately, at the moment Steem can be bought directly with fiat. You have to either buy bitcoin, litecoin or ethereum first, then convert.

I checked one yesterday. the transaction fee was $11. that's too much

Woah! That's a lot! I did hear that bitcoin had three highest transaction fees though, so I always try to use litecoin if I'm exchanging. Not that I've ever exchanged from fiat before, only to fiat a couple of times.

well I found an exchange yesterday that suits my needs, so hopefully today I might buy.

Nice one. It pays to shop around then.

You can buy bitcoin first and then use Blocktrades. That's the easiest way but there is an extra step.

What are the extra steps please?

Buying the bitcoins of course. I'm sure you can buy Bitcoin in Nigeria. You may need a Bitcoin wallet.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for supporting the #minnowuprising initiative. I am providing you an upvote to motivate your commitment to the #Steemit community! As the platform continues to expand, it is imperative that we come together and support each others content. It is a long process to become a minnow here but also a journey well worth taking as the knowledge and learnings achieved are beneficial for our personal growth as well as a step forward to improving our engagement on the platform. Please continue supporting the #minnowuprising initiative by posting content as well as curating and upvoting content of others.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nonsowrites from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Adding to the advice in the other comments - it might be best for you to contact someone in your country who already performed transactions with a bona-fide exchange.

I found an exchange that sales btc at an affordable rate, so I am hoping yo buy from them and covert the btc to steem

Yeah, the difficulty with buying steem is the same difficulty with all cryptos. I feel like this is the main problem that is keeping crypto projects from going mainstream. It is such a rigmarole to get the stuff that people just get frustrated and do something else.

I tried to buy some Bitcoin back in 2010 but it was too much of a hassle so I said nevermind. Oh, how I wish that I had tried a bit harder.

Yeah, I must say it is really a daunting task. I have been trying for 2days now and I have slowly started to spend the said money little by little :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95