You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Robotic Human or Human Robot

in #busy6 years ago

I guess it is kind of ironic now that you mention it! We've been saying for centuries that various labour saving devices will give us more free time, but this situation always seems to be 'just around the corner!'

Karl.

Sort:  

It is exactly what i was thinking. We develop science to facilitate but end up loosing all our time and never seem to reflect about it. It's a shame what we have become, merely half robots half humans not able to use this huge development in our favor, but instead we are driven towards the loss of time and all that's important around us. Sometimes we can't even enjoy the sun rising or setting for weeks or months. Instead we are in front of some screens.

Especially in always-on work environments. I guess tech is very much the same as teaching in that way... difficult to switch off, always something YOU COULD be doing, and then of course there's 'stacking' - I'm settling on the view that 'windows' and multi-screens are quite detrimental to my mental health!

And addictive of course... I actually struggle these days to go a few hours without screens. I force myself to, but I never used to have to make an effort to do this.

I often suffer from that type of addiction. I thought i was one of the few but apparently it is a widespread issue. I wonder how can we ever get out of it and start rationing our time on screens and start using it more on our loved ones. I often have headache from too much screen time, whether pc, laptop or smartphone. Thank God my full time job forbids its usage and that's the only time of the day i can finally feel freedom. We are prisoners of our own mistakes. Will we ever learn...!

No it is very common! TBH I think the solution is just self discipline and a strict offline timetable!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78