Positivity Challenge #2: The art of not giving a f*ck.

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

     The amount of fucks we are required to give these days is overwhelming and insurmountable.
                                               

     It leaves you physically and emotionally drained. I have been however trying to opt for a new practical method of not giving a fuck, and so far, the results are satisfactory.
It's only natural to seek approval and gratification from other people and for the smallest thing we do, it's what keeps us going and aiming for better, but it's also what might push us into a pit if we don't set limits and draw boundaries for ourselves. Seeking approval through abiding by cultural norms of what is socially acceptable and what is not can simply ruin our lives and lead us to a toxic way of living.

   From now on, I recommend that you plan a fuck budget (fucks in the form of time, energy and money), where you only write down the things and the names of people you're actually ready to give a fuck about, for whatever reason you deem worthy or VITAL. Then if you ever find yourself in a situation where giving a fuck to people or things other than those mentioned in your fuck budget, then retreat and save your fucks for a better future use.

    It's simple, if you can't afford doing it (wasting time with small talk, doing a favor, stressing over a situation...) then just say NO. Politely if you must, but say NO. If you are pressured into doing something, just say NO. If you feel under the obligation to do or say something that makes you uncomfortable, means little to nothing to you or just wouldn't be of a value in any way, don't do it. If you're afraid of sounding rude or inconsiderate, then you have an endless option of diplomatic answers and polite excuses to choose from. I'm not going to teach you the ABCs of being a human being. I will however try to help you get rid of one: Giving too many fucks you can't afford in the first place.
As a perfectionist, my mind feels like a cluttered and jammed factory that is about to set itself on fire by dint of over-processing everything for the sake of more perfect results.

    At a certain point in my life I started feeling entitled to be happy at all times, so I felt miserable with every obstacle or issue I faced. In my mind, disagreements, frustration and failure were nothing but injustice and betrayal. I gave so many fucks to every small inconvenience that came my way that I felt stressed and anxious ALL.THE.TIME. but no more.

    Now that I had a wake up call, realizing that my life had taken a dark twist, I'm opting for a different approach to life altogether. I'm accepting the fact that life is nothing but ups and downs no matter how hard we try to perfect it, and if I am to become a happier version of myself, I should start by embracing the true nature of life and consider every encountered obstacle as a challenge capable of shaping me into a stronger and more resilient person. My perception changed and my attitude towards life changed along with it. I no longer care too much or too little about things or people. I distribute fucks wisely now.

    Even by looking back to the evolutionary nature of being, you'd see that only beings with better coping mechanisms had the best chances of surviving.

Be like Taco, save your fucks.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Wise Taco, you have a bright future on this platform I'm telling you ;)

hahaha Right, let's hope so senor :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62