You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's gather around the fire - Steem Bounty For Stories

in #busy6 years ago

SA is my birth country! 😃 Unfortunately, I didn't spend much time there.
In Poland, where I lived for a long time, sausages are cooked over a fire and most people drink alcohol. Beer or something stronger. Usually then it is a good opportunity to meet friends and spend time together.
Tell me @chekohler what type of alcohol is now popular in SA?

Sort:  

Oh wow, thats amazing, well I'll count it as you still have some South African in you 😋

The Polish don't sound very different from South Africans when it comes to making a fire, very cool.I have a Polish/South African friend and he loves his beers lol, but his told me about their vodkas. Apparently one is named after a bull or something and has 1 blade of grass floating in it, supposed to be very strong

Interesting question. So local beers has been and always will be the most popular, those being your Black Label and Castle Larger. But we've now seen a large selection of craft beers hitting the market and its really growing.

As for spirits I would say Brandy is by in large the most popular, South Africans love their brandy and coke and then surprisingly Gin is becoming more popular. I recently did a post on it you can find it here - ULOG #01 - A Little Bit Of Gin-trification - My First ULOG

😃 Your friend told you about "Żubrówka". The name comes from an animal, which we call "żubr" and means European bison. It is true, it is very popular in Poland and looks like that:
220px-ZBG-700_B.jpg
My dad was drinking Brandy while there. I need to check your ulog! :)

LOL! Yes thats the one, OMG! I still don't know how to say the name but I'd like to try it out some time just to see what it tastes like, what do you drink it with? I feel like it should be drank just on ice

LOL seems like your dad really embraced South African culture! A little Klipdrift is always a winner

Oh, thank you! The taste of vodka is not good in itself, it is not similar to, for example, Whisky. Vodka is usually drunk in two ways. In Poland it is popular to drink pure vodka from a shot-glass and then drink juice or another drink, such as Coca-Cola or something similar.
The second way is to mix the vodka with different beverages and extras in order to create a sweet drink. This is usually drunk by women. Let me know how you like it when you try it. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55