Changing Times On Steem: Adding Depth?

in #busy5 years ago

I admit I am a bit of a numbers nerd. it is something I always did, pouring over stats as a kid for hours on end. I love to see trends and how they change over time.

Often I wrote about how the applications are going to cause a shift in what takes place on the Steem blockchain. The fact that @steemhunt put out a post the other day detailing their results shows what logic was telling me. We should see a higher retention rate as more people join through the applications. Also, we will have a more engaged community.

It is easy to look at the overall numbers to draw conclusions. Often this can be misleading. In addition to numbers, we also have to look at the pace of things. How are they holding up over time and what change is taking place? Are things speeding up or slowing down?

To reach that conclusion, we must have some type of baseline. That is hard to do when just stating to analyze something since it really has to be laid at that point. This is what I am going to try to do now.

I usually post a monthly report using the information from the charts provided by @arcange. I will continue to do this except I will be removing the monthly account numbers. I might leave the chart from when I joined and present month, but that is it.

The reason for the switch is now I will provide a more regular basis of the accounts and how they are changing. I posted the first set of data on Sunday afternoon, 48 hours ago. I decided to do a follow up now just to see the pace things are progressing. I will probably do this once a week going forward.

Here is the first post.

https://busy.org/@taskmaster4450/steem-distribution-levels

All information is pulled from Steemitboards.

steem.png

Here is a side-by-side comparison of what the numbers were like on Sunday versus what they are now.

steem.png

How does this compare to historic numbers for Steem? I do not know. One way I did think of measuring it was to divide the totals in each category by the number of days Steem is around (roughly 987 days). This provides much higher daily numbers which is not surprising. The challenge with that is who knows how many duplicate accounts there are (we know many) along with being involved in the 100% era of inflation. Over time, that rate would skew the numbers radically upward.

Therefore, this will be the baseline that is used going forward. Over time, with consistent analysis, I believe we will figure out what the trend is. Well, I take that back, we know what the trend is, the numbers are growing. More accurately, we will be able to see the pace and the percentage that keeps moving up to the different levels.

One things that I can say is very encouraging, with the price of STEEM so low, we are seeing a major powering up bonanza. According to @penguinpablo, over the last 8 days, Steemians powered up to the tune of 2,126,513 STEEM. It essentially added 1% to the total SP vested.

steem.png

https://busy.org/@penguinpablo/daily-steem-stats-report-tuesday-november-27-2018

I have no proof other than the posting of a few people but I am going to conclude that the powering up based upon the price of STEEM has something to do with the number of accounts moving up levels. There are many who are buying STEEM, not just large accounts and adding to their stake. This is good to see.

One of the important factors for Steem is for the distribution to even out. I acknowledge there is a lot way to go but they numbers are promising. While we would all like to see higher numbers, 60+ accounts getting their first STEEM a day is not many, I feel we need to see some quality. My preference is quality over quantity for a little while.

If we can get people getting involved in the different applications and being active, that will go a long way for creating a more stable user base. In my view it is rather pointless to have 1,000 people getting their first SP per day and none of them ever getting to the 10 SP level. That means they just up and quit which is what we basically saw all along.

A lot of this is conjecture at this time yet the feeling is there. To me, the activity that is taking place, while down, does feel more consistent. And the accounts appear to be spreading out even if it is slower than most of us would like.

This is something to keep monitoring.


If you found this article informative, please give an upvote and resteem.

Sort:  

Glad to see I'm not the only one in a buying frenzy! 😂

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Given the price, there will soon come a time when sellers will have to stop selling as the buyers are staking and taking the supply out of the market which will ultimately create interesting imbalances once demand comes in from changes like Smart Media Tokens.

Posted using Partiko iOS

If I had money I would buy some, but literally am so broke it hurts

Haha pretty much same

Posted using Partiko Android

I've been tracking Liquid STEEM and SP every day since February. I have never seen this much powering up. What is more significant is it isn't coming from large single entity like @misterdelegation to support some big project. It is coming from a bunch of people. Hell, I congratulated two people today for powering up and becoming a dolphin. Another thing is that I think much of that SBD conversion is not being sold. I believe much of that is being put right back into SP from the very people that converted it.

You are right, Changing Times!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98