Cryptocurrency Is My Plan: What Is Yours?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago

I was conversing with a co-worker today who also has a technological background. He is aware of many of the things I write about here. We started our discussion about the state of our industry which then expanded to how technology is going to affect all of them. The next 10 years is going to see advancement similar to what took place over the last 30. That is how quickly things are moving.

We are both about the same age which puts us in the middle of the sandwich. Essentially, we are the meat which could go either way.

For those who are not aware of this analogy, the sandwich is the demographic makeup and how they are affected by technology. The first piece of bread is those roughly 60 and up. They grew up when change was not that quick. Things that did happen took place behind the scenes. Thus, change especially as it pertains to technology, is something they resist.

The second piece of break is the younger crowd who grew up in a time where everything changed. Their entire existence witnessed change. They embrace it like the rest of us do oxygen. New technology is a like a new day, it just happens.

In the middle is the meat. These are the ones between 40-60. We grew up with change but it is not natural to us. Technology is something that we do not fear yet fully embracing it is conscious. It takes work for us to learn something new. Hence, we can gravitate towards the first piece of bread or the second, depending upon the individual.

Since we see a similar horizon, we were commenting about how radical the world will be in 10 years. Ultimately, we both came back to the point that few people are aware of what is coming. In looking at our company, there are many who are the first piece of bread and will sail off into the sunset without a problem. The challenge is for those who are the meat who are completely unaware of what is taking place. There are many we work with who are not formulating a plan. Since they have no idea that this business will not be around in a decade, they are acting like it is 1999.

image.png

Source

My co-worker made an astute point. He said that everyone needs to be working on a plan that is in place within 5 years. This is non-negotiable if you are under 55. Things simply are going to be too different in most industries.

I agree with him. Fortunately for me, I found blockchain and cryptocurrency. This is my plan for the future. I am not worried about what is going to take place in terms of disruption because I feel that I am involved with one of the disruptive forces. Cryptocurrency is creating a new economic realm which allows us to "opt out" of the present system. This is helpful when that system goes to complete crap.

My efforts on here each day are done with the intention of fulfilling this ideal. I also believe that it is bigger than just me. There are going to be tens of millions of people displaced by technology, many whom do not have the resources (savings) to survive. They are going to need someplace to turn.

Steem is just one of the mechanisms that is being designed that can provide the answer people need. Through the reward system, people have the ability to generate cryptocurrency through their actions. This is a nice replacement for the income people are going to be sacrificing when things are altered due to either technology or the ending of the bubblization of the global economy. Either way, I do not see it being a pretty outcome.

Much of this should not come as a surprise to anyone. Along with myself, many others write about the threat on employment due to technological automation. One person is even running for President on that platform. He is the first one in the political arena that I came across that mentioned this concept.

Also, the idea that the central banks are setting the world up for a collapse is also a point that gets a lot of attention. While you do not usually see it in the MSM, it is common enough that it is not hard to find. Personally, I believe the next collapse will be much worse than the last one. This is going to be really painful.

So my question is this: what is your plan for the future? Knowing that most industries are going to be disrupted, do you have a plan in place to move forward?


If you found this article informative, please give an upvote and resteem.

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

... what is your plan for the future?

Crypto (of course) :-) and sports betting (based on calculating own odds and arbitrage betting).

Concerning STEEM I am not always as enthusiastic as you, but yes, I see the huge potential ... Let's wait and see what future brings and hope it then turns out that your optimism was fully justified.

Do I have a plan?
-You bet !
Which is that?
Crypto!
.
.
I'm 65

I think my plan really needs to go back to physical basics of food and shelter. Knowledge of how to productively grow my own food. Plenty of seeds of all variety.

The power grid and internet need to be more decentralized than they are currently.

I agree with the addition of producing more and consuming less. The days of a mindless 9-5 job followed by mindless passive entertainment are going away. People will need to learn to create value within this new digital economy. The direct correlation between effort and reward, means no more life on autopilot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Had the same talk with the co-workers today. Cryptocurrency is my plan as well.

I am pretty meaty.
The advantage of our position is the that while not natural, we have some experience to back it up with.

I think for all of us who are the meat of the sandwich and being here in the cryptosphere, crypto, decentralization and Blockchain is for sure our plan of the near future.
Excellent article.

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

My plan is to become debt free and control my assets with blockchain technology including creating an important base here in Steem!

Posted using Partiko iOS

On a side note, I was talking about this in a comment today with someone too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94