@steemhunt With Big GoalssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

In my continuing posting about some of the applications on the STEEM blockchain, I thought I would write a bit about @steemhunt.

For those who are unaware, this application became a trend setter. This was the first app to offer out tokens in exchange for SP delegation. I remember when this was announced, their delegation amounts went through the roof. Every so often they post an update of all that was issued and the amount is stunning.

This model was since followed by a number of different applications seeking to improve their standing on the STEEM blockchain. It is also the reason why, I believe, there was a shift in focus from individuals to applications. A great deal of the voting is now done by applications to the users on their platforms. This enables the smaller accounts to garner sizable upvotes they otherwise would not get.

There was a recent post by the @steemhunt team that caught my attention. It notified everyone that their direct airdrop to Steemians ended. They set aside 100M HUNT tokens to be given in a 1:1 ratio for each SP held. Of the 100M allocated, only 18M were claimed. For those non-math people, this is an 18% claim rate. This was stunning to me.

Fortunately, all is not lost. They are going to take those token and add them into the other aspects of the reward/promotion pool enabling the individuals who support that application to take home more tokens. This is an added bonus to all their supporters.

What really interested me about the post was a projection they made. I like the growth of the application which is showing a nice uptrend which I believe is healthy for the STEEM ecosystem.

image.png

It is interesting to see the upward movement since the beginning of August. I am not sure what set things in motion to that degree since I would believe it outpaces the overall growth on STEEM. Nevertheless, it shows this app is getting a lot more popular.

That said, he is what really excited me:

Steemhunt has about 19K monthly active users at the moment, and our goal is to make at least 300K active users by the end of this year.

https://steemit.com/steemhunt/@steemhunt/hunt-token-airdrop-will-be-revised-or-sponsor-report-21

Are you kidding me? 300K users by the end of the year is their goal? That is a 15 times growth from where they are now.

The question is how possible is this? I will admit that I have no information other than what was published about their plans for the next few months. It is obvious from this there is something up their sleeve. Certainly, there must be some type of plan to increase at such a rapid rate to make a public statement such as this.

What is most exciting about this aspiration is that the entire STEEM ecosystem has roughly 50K transacting accounts a day. If they get 300K monthly users, using the ratios on their chart, they will have over 30K daily active users, roughly 60% of all of STEEM right now. That is a very big number for one application.

In my reading of some of their past posts, I know the goal is to be a lot more than just a hunting site. They seek to be a multi-tired ecosystem providing many different benefits to not only hunters, but those who seek to promote their products. It is really going to be fascinating how this all unfolds.

I often cite the fact that tokens created using the SMT protocol have a distinct advantage. The fact that all those tokens are going to be paired with STEEM means that any token on this blockchian can be swapped for STEEM, hence used to increase SP, if one desires to do that. There is nothing that says one has to swap the SMT out. In this case, with their aspirations of the @steemhunt team, perhaps the HUNT might be something to hold onto.

There is always the possibility that an application token actually becomes more valuable than STEEM.

Either way, I find watching the @steemhunt project to be exciting. This project is fast moving with a big vision.

Let us all hope they pull it off.


If you found this article informative, please give it an upvote and resteem.

Nothing I write is to be considered financial advice. This is all for informational purposes only. Do you rown due diligence and make decisions of this nature based upon your own conclusions. What I write about STEEM, Steemhunt, or any other project is just words on a screen. Seek out the proper expertise from the proper parties before making any financial decisions.

Sort:  

I was not aware that I couldn't get the airdrop 1:1 after today.
Is there any way that I could get the tokens? Can anybody help me?

Upvoted for visibility.

19k monthly users is amazing

I'm not sure exactly what they have up their sleeves, but a part of their plan is their 'Hunt tokens for Social Media shares'... you basically get 9 HUNT tokens for each outside view you bring to the platform. I've given away pretty much my entire non-Steem social media presence, but it did make me consider starting something up to get a lot of sharing happening... some Steemians do still have big Twitter follower numbers though, so if they are interested in hunts, they may bring some new people to the platform. Steemhunt is basically in it's advertising phase at the moment.

When it's over?

Those numbers are pie in the sky. If they couldn't get everyone with free tokens then how can they possibly get that figure?. I didn't take my free tokens as we were told there was enough for everyone. I was waiting to build some more SP before I redeemed. I guess that is gone now but I am not overly concerned.

It is achievable. They're not going after existing steemians anymore, they want to bring in people who are active in this product hunting space - hunters, product designers and end users. If they promote in the right circles then that number isn't all that far fetched. All the more so when they can onboard users on their own come Sep. 25th.

I really like @steemhunt because I've always hated how Product Hunt works and their admin hasn't been all that impressive. They basically took a social bookmarking template and started posting links to products in the start up space. Nothing original there and the fact that they got millions in funding was a joke. It's great to see competition in that space and rewards for people who do all the research and provide the value. I wish them well and hope their token moons.

Sounds like a pretty ambitious plan. 300K users? If they were the only fish in the ocean, maybe but the problem with all these SMT projects is that they are competing for a limited audience. The number of people who just "sign up for EVERYthing" is somewhat limited. You can get them FAST, but then you get stuck at "some number" until you create a general appeal approach to go after a wider audience... and then you damn better have something good to offer!

=^..^=

I'm not entirely sure that's the way they're looking at it... they don't see themselves as competing with other SMTs... they're competing with ProductHunt and the like... where people share products for the social status instead of monetary upvote status.

It'll be interesting to see! I suppose there is some appeal in the whole "status rank" approach... I know being in the top 500 reviewers on Amazon used to be a hotly contested gig, even though there were no rewards involved, aside from a little badge next to your name.

=^..^=

It's nice to see STEEMHunt having a successful start to their presence on the STEEM-chain! I'm excited to see where it will go.

I wish them best of luck. Growing that much in that short time will need as much.

Will be interesting to compare these numbers to 1UP when we offer the UP airdrop via UA score. Because then the average user will be able to claim a bigger stake than they own SP, PLUS the total supply of 1UP will be just above 50% of the HUNT token. That means each token will create a bigger stake in the total distribution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89