Astor Place Rhinos

in #busy6 years ago

Astor Place Rhinos




Sony A6500 16mm F6.3 1/125 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


In a previous post the Astor Place Alamo Cube and these rhinos were in view but I thought the Rhinos were so cool they warranted a post on their own, but I start with this shot to give an idea of where they are located, and also to show the Cube again.

I think the Cube is such a simple but yet so cool piece of art, and as much as I love good graffiti I was disappointed to see someone had tagged the cube.




Sony A6500 16mm F6.3 1/80 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


But let me get focused on the new Rhino Art piece in the little Park, this shot is to give a sense of the size of them, not so much with the person walking past in the background but the barriers give you a good idea of how huge they are.




Sony A6500 16mm F6.3 1/100 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Another shot of the Rhinos from side on, the detail and style of this art piece is so cool and here is what I could find out about it online.

These rhinos were installed and unveiled for view back in the middle of March but I just came across them last week, they are the world's Largest Rhino sculpture.

The piece is entitled The Last Three and is by New York and Sydney based husband and wife contemporary art Duo Gillie and Marc Shattner

The piece is a brass sculpture and weighs 7 tons and stands 17 feet high.

The detail on these Rhinos is pretty cool but i will share that in another post


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.729873 lat -73.991180 long Astor Place NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Awww what a shame tagging the cube.

The rhinos looks surreal!

I agree with you on both counts

Have a great day

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=astor-place-rhinos


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Makes me wonder what kind of mind(s) comes up with the idea for this and then sets about making it happen. The labor, the materials, OMG. Still -- it beats "Chevy on a Stick."

Ohh yeah I often wonder that with a lot of the Art in the city LOL

But I do like the message this one is trying to make highlighting this endangered species

impressive work of art of 7 tons very heavy but at the same time very beautiful. Very good shots @tattoodjay

it is an amazing piece to see, thanks for your visit

great composition and colors :)

☮ Silent Zen ~ Indie ~ Music ~ Photo ~ Art ~ Support ☮

.... though I wonder how mid rhino can hold tail up when its upside down ..... wait, never mind ... I saw them peeing at the zoo LOL :)

LOL gravity is different than what we know in art

haha! I finally grasped that Salvador Dali mustaches, he was a very sad artist, and I need to re-review the whole concept of "softness" and "hardness" in the persistence of time :)

Thanks Kindly appreciate your visit ;)

Wow, those are pretty cool and huge! I can't imagine doing something that large and detailed. I like how they are stacked up - really creative. You always have some cool stuff going on there in NYC. ;)

It was so cool to see and an amazing art piece

yes there is always cool stuff to see in NYC

Excellent shots! I was over there 2 days ago!

Thanks I was pleased to find them there as I was walking by they are so cool arent they

For once i thought of any animal park but the statue is too good to for rhinos. Rhinos in town....👍

ITs sad to thing of the reason for this piec eonly three of that type remaining, lets hope they can be saved and their population grow

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Such an amazing sculpture and background buildings and how you edited it, gives it such a surreal look. You really hit it out of the park with this shot.

This is both with whimsical and awesome all the same breath. Thank you for showing my love and now I need to go visit them.

Tip

And thanks for you visit and support you are always so kind and your visits always bring a smile ot my face

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81